Kiernan and Salaam Win Tiptree Awards

Caitlín R. Kiernan’s novel The Drowning Girl (Roc) and Kiini Ibura Salaam’s collection Ancient, Ancient (Aqueduct) are the winners of the 2012 James Tiptree, Jr. Award, given annually to works of science fiction or fantasy that explore and expand gender roles. Each author will receive $1,000 in prize money, original artwork created to honor the winning works, and chocolate. They will be honored at a ceremony during WisCon 37, May 24-27, 2013 in Madison WI.

The Tiptree jury released an “honor list” recognizing other noteworthy works:

Jurors were Joan Gordon (chair), Andrea Hairston, Lesley Hall, Karen Lord, and Gary K. Wolfe.

The 2013 jurors will be Ellen Klages (chair), Christopher Barzak, Jayna Brown, Nene Oremes, and Gretchen Treu.

For more information, see the Tiptree website.