2017 Ditmar Award Ballot

The 2017 Ditmar Award ballot, for Australian SF, has been announced:

Best Novel

Best Novella/Novelette

  • “Going Viral”, Thoraiya Dyer (Dimension6 #8)
  • “By the Laws of Crab and Woman”, Jason Fischer (Review of Australian Fiction Volume 17, Issue 6)
  • “All the Colours of the Tomato”, Simon Petrie, (Dimension6 #9)
  • “Did We Break the End of the World?”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Defying Doomsday)
  • “Glass Slipper Scandal”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Sheep Might Fly)
  • “Finnegan’s Field”, Angela Slatter (Tor.com 1/16)

Best Short Story

  • “There’s No Place Like Home”, Edwina Harvey (AntipodeanSF #221)
  • “Flame Trees”, T.R. Napper (Asimov’s 4-5/16)
  • “No Fat Chicks”, Cat Sparks (In Your Face)

Best Collected Work

Best Artwork

  • Adam Browne for illustrations in The Tame Animals of Saturn (Peggy Bright)
  • Shauna O’Meara for illustration of Lackington’s #12.

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • 2016 Australian SF Snapshot, Greg Chapman, Tehani Croft, et. al.
  • Earl Grey Editing Services, Elizabeth Fitzgerald
  • Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Alex Pierce, & Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott & Ian Mond
  • Galactic Chat, Alexandra Pierce, David McDonald, Sarah Parker, Helen Stubbs, Mark Webb, & Sean Wright
  • The Coode Street Podcast, Gary K. Wolfe & Jonathan Strahan

Best Fan Writer

  • James “Jocko” Allen
  • Aidan Doyle
  • Bruce Gillespie
  • Foz Meadows
  • Tansy Rayner Roberts

Best Fan Artist

  • Kathleen Jennings

Best New Talent

  • T.R. Napper
  • Marlee Jane Ward

William Atheling Jr. Award for Criticism or Review

Voting for the Ditmar Award is conducted in accordance with the rules and is open to members and supporting members of Continuum 13 and to members of Contact 2016 who were eligible to vote in the 2016 Award. Voting is open until May 14, 2017. The award will be presented at Continuum 13, the 56th Australian National Science Fiction Convention, held June 9-12, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia.