Locus Online


Nebula ballot


News Log



Gordon R. Dickson

News Log



PKD Nominees


News Archive





News Log: Briefs and Links
Monday 26 March 2001


§ ConJosé, the 2002 World Science Fiction Convention to be held in San José, California, August 29 - Sept. 2 2002, will present a special Hugo Award for Best Web Site.

Saturday 24 March 2001


§ R. Chetwynd-Hayes, British writer of supernatural fiction, died March 20 of bronchial pneumonia at the age of 81. Beginning in his 40's, he published over 200 short stories, more than a dozen novels, and numerous anthologies over a period of 30 years. He won a Stoker Life Achievement Award, and a Special Award from the British Fantasy Society, both in 1989.

A full obituary will appear in a future issue of Locus Magazine.

§ A memorial service for Jenna Felice will be held April 6. Submissions for a booklet of testimonials and photos may be sent to Kenneth Houghton or Shira Daemon Houghton.

Two memorial webpages have been set up in Jenna Felice's honor at:

SF Revu
Anna Genoese's page

Contributions to a memorial fund to cover medical, funeral, and other expenses may be sent to:

The Jenna Felice Memorial Fund
c/o Jason Killheffer
68 Manorwood Drive
Branford, CT 06405

§ William Hanna, co-creator with Joseph Barbera of numerous animated TV series including The Flintstones and The Jetsons, died March 22.

§ Donald Reed, founder and president of the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films, which has presented the Saturn Awards for genre films since 1972, died March 18 in Los Angeles at the age of 65.


§ The final ballot for this year's Prix Aurora Awards, the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Awards, is online here. Winners will be announced at Canvention 21, held in conjunction with V-Con 26, May 4 - 6, 2001 in Burnaby, British Columbia.

Other News

§ According to Salon and the government of Sri Lanka's website, Arthur C. Clarke is scheduled to announce -- on pre-recorded video -- the nominees and winner for best adapted screenplay at this year's Academy Awards, Sunday evening March 25.

§ Vice-President David Niall Wilson has succeeded the late Richard Laymon as President of the Horror Writers Association.

§ Fiction webzine The Infinite Matrix, announced in August 2000 for launch in early 2001, has lost its financial backing and will not launch as planned, reports editor Eileen Gunn.

§ An opera by Somtow Sucharitkul (S.P. Somtow), "Madana", premiered in Bangkok in February to considerable coverage and enthusiastic reviews.

Friday 16 March 2001


§ Molly Gloss has won this year's James Tiptree, Jr. Award, for Wild Life (Simon & Schuster). The Tiptree Award website also has the Short List of runners-up.

Wednesday 14 March 2001


§ Nominations for the 2001 "Ditmar" Awards -- the Australian National Science Fiction Awards -- have been released. Winners will be announced at Swancon 2001, 12 - 16 April, in Perth, Australia.


§ A statement from Harlan Ellison and his attorney about their fight against AOL, et al., involving copyright infringement on the Internet is posted at...

Monday 12 March 2001


§ Jenna A. Felice, an editor at Tor Books and associate editor of Century Magazine, died Saturday, March 10, in New York City at the age of 25. She had been in a coma since suffering an acute allergic reaction the previous Sunday, combined with a severe asthmatic attack, and never regained consciousness.

The April issue of Locus will have numerous appreciations from her colleagues and friends.

Saturday 10 March 2001


§ Nominations for this year's Kurd Lasswitz Prize include, in the foreign book category, Iain Banks (twice), Greg Egan, Peter F. Hamilton, Paul J. McAuley, Mary Doria Russell, Robert Silverberg, and Wladimir Sorokin.

China Miéville, author of Perdido Street Station (Ballantine Del Rey), is running for British Parliament as the official candidate for his district for the Socialist Alliance.

§ Check out Stealth Press's 3D "Stealth-O-Vision" -- just click on any book cover from the homepage...

Not the News

§ "Edgar Harris" reports: "Tina Brown to Take Over Editorship of Asimov's".

§ Also from Edgar Harris: Saturn and Golden Raspberry Awards To Merge.

Tuesday 6 March 2001

Best of 2000

§ SF Site's Readers' Choice Best Books of 2000 are books by, in ascending order, Steven Erikson, Robert Jordan, Terry Pratchett, Sean Stewart, Elizabeth Haydon, J.K. Rowling, Robin Hobb, Mary Gentle, Guy Gavriel Kay, and George R.R. Martin. (The site's editorial choices were posted earlier.)

Monday 5 March 2001


§ The preliminary ballot for this year's Stoker Awards has been released.

§ Winners of the Australian Aurealis Awards include Sean McMullen, Juliet Marillier and Kim Wilkins.

Williamson Lectureship

Rick Hauptmann reports: The 25th Annual Williamson Lectureship took place on the campus of Eastern New Mexico University in Portales on March 1, 2001. Joining Jack Williamson as special guests at the event were Scott Edelman, Kristine Kathryn Rusch and Dean Wesley Smith. Following a luncheon honoring Dr. Williamson, the guests participated in an evening panel discussion on this year's theme, "New Science for a New Century." While not an official guest, Connie Willis attended the Lectureship for the purpose of seeing Jack and visiting with other friends. The three invited guests voted to ask Connie to join the panel discussion as moderator, because they were afraid she would heckle them from the audience. The discussion then proceeded at a lively pace, touching on various subjects including "what happened to the 2001 we were promised (in the movie)", "what areas of science will develop most significantly in the near future", and "what topics seem to be taboo in SF these days (over population and the possibility of plague were high on the list)."

Scott Edelman reports on the event in his editorial in this week's Science Fiction Weekly.

Jack Williamson, Scott Edelman [photo by Wendell Sloan]

Connie Willis, Patrice Caldwell of ENMU, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Dean Wesley Smith, Jack Williamson, Scott Edelman [photo by Rick Hauptmann]

Stephen Haffner of Haffner Press, Jack Williamson, Kristine Kathryn Rusch [photo by Wendell Sloan]

Click here to subscribe to Locus Magazine.

© 2001 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.