Locus Online


UK nominees

Gordon R. Dickson

News Log



PKD Nominees


News Archive





Sunday 4 February 2001

2001 Clarke Award Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2001 Arthur C. Clarke Award for the previous year's best SF novel published in Great Britain was announced on February 4.

  • Ash: A Secret History, Mary Gentle (Gollancz)
  • Cosmonaut Keep, Ken MacLeod (Orbit)
  • Parable of the Talents, Octavia E. Butler (Women's Press)
  • Perdido Street Station, China Mieville (Macmillan)
  • Revelation Space, Alastair Reynolds (Gollancz)
  • Salt, Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
  • The judges this year are Paul Billinger and Gary Dalkin representing the British Science Fiction Association, Caroline Mullan and Lisa Tuttle for the Science Fiction Foundation, and Doug Millard for the Science Museum. The administrator and chairman of the judges is Paul Kincaid. The prize, an engraved bookend and £2001, will be presented at a ceremony at the Science Museum in London on May 19, 2001. The ceremony will culminate a day-long event at the museum inspired by Arthur C. Clarke's novel and film 2001: A Space Odyssey. Past winners of the Clarke Award (with links to shortlists) are listed on this page of the Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards.

    2000 British SF Award Shortlist

    The shortlist for this year's British Science Fiction Awards was announced on February 1.

  • Ash: A Secret History, Mary Gentle (Gollancz)
  • Paradox, John Meaney (Bantam)
  • Perdido Street Station, China Miéville (Macmillan)
  • redRobe, Jon Courtenay Grimwood (Simon & Schuster/Earthlight)
  • Revelation Space, Alastair Reynolds (Gollancz)
  • short fiction
  • "Adventures in the Ghost Trade", Liz Williams (Interzone 154)
  • "Destiny on Tartarus", Eric Brown (Spectrum SF #2)
  • "Singing Each to Each", Paul Di Filippo (Interzone 155)
  • "The Suspect Genome", Peter F. Hamilton (Interzone 156)
  • "La Vampiresse", Tanith Lee (Interzone 154)
  • artwork
  • Afetere's Eyes (Scheherazade 19), Gerald Gaubert
  • Hideaway (Interzone 157), Dominic Harman
  • Physiognomies of Flight (Vector 213), China Miéville
  • The BSFA Awards are voted on by the membership of the British Science Fiction Association and the membership of the annual British National Science Fiction Convention (or Eastercon). Winners will be announced on Sunday April 15, 2001, at the 2001 Eastercon in Leicestershire, England.

    Click here to subscribe to Locus Magazine.

    © 2001 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.