The Website of The Magazine of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Field
Locus Online
Sub Menu contents
The Magazine



TICKETS ARE SOLD OUT for the Science Fiction Awards Weekend, June 15-17, 2012 in Seattle, Washington.

Tickets are $40 and include all Locus events -- including readings, a kickoff meet-and-greet, panels with leading authors, an autograph session, the lunch banquet, and the annual Hawai'ian shirt contest judged by the fabulous Connie Willis, who will MC the ceremony and present the Locus Awards -- all followed by the Clarion West Party on Saturday night honoring Clarion West supporters, awards weekend ticket holders, and special guests.

Click here to view our list of confirmed guests!

The events are held across the street from the Seattle Center, home to the SF Museum and the Experience Music Project, with excellent access to the light rail and trolley systems.

In addition, non-profit literary organization NW Media Arts is sponsoring special Awards Weekend writers workshops with James Patrick Kelly and Connie Willis at the nearby Richard Hugo House. Additional fees apply and workshop registration is limited; tickets are now SOLD OUT for the workshops. Click here for more information.

Special room rates, $131 per night, will be available from Wednesday, June 13 through Sunday June 17 at the Best Western Executive Inn at 200 Taylor Avenue North, Seattle WA 98109, directly across the street from the Seattle Center and Experience Music Project/SF Museum. For hotel reservations, call Mr. Kelly Sheehan at (206) 674-6616 and mention the "Science Fiction Awards Group", or you may call the general number at 1(800) 351-9444. Please make reservations by May 14, 2012 in order to secure the special room rate. If you need to book additional days, please e-mail Locus or call us at (510) 339-9196 and we will arrange it for you.

Tentative Schedule:

Friday, June 15

7:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.: Author readings by Connie Willis and James Patrick Kelly in the Whidbey-Shaw Room at the Best Western Executive Inn, presented by NW Media Arts and University Book Store. Followed by an evening meet-and-greet in the lounge.

Saturday, June 16

10:00 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.: "The Foundation of SF Success; or, Nibbled to Death by Ducks" panel with James Patrick Kelly, Connie Willis, Kij Johnson, and Gary K. Wolfe (mod).

11:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.: "The Intersection of Criticism and Science Within SF" panel with Greg Bear, Jay Lake, and Gary K. Wolfe (mod).

12:00 p.m. to 12:30 p.m.: Autographing session with books available for purchase thanks to University Book Store, and a brief memorial for Ray Bradbury.

12:45 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.: Locus Awards Lunch Banquet and Ceremony at the Best Western Executive Inn with M.C. Connie Willis, who will present the awards and judge the annual Hawai'ian Shirt Contest.

8:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.: Clarion West Party in the Whidbey-Shaw Room at the Best Western Executive Inn.

Schedule is subject to change without notice. Don't forget to wear your most outlandish Hawai'ian shirt to the Locus Awards!

CONFIRMED GUEST LIST as of May 4, 2012
Karen Anderson
Michael Alexander
Sheila B. Auster
Obadiah Baird
Keely Ball
Astrid Bear
Greg Bear
Brenta Blevins
Douglas Booze
Art Boulton
Jason V. Brock
Sunni Brock
Bryan L. Camp
Shelly Rae Clift
Elizabeth Coleman
Paul Cornell
Nathan Crowder
Indrapramit Das
Linda Deneroff
Heidi Diem
Danika Dinsmore
Lauren Dixon
Sarah Dodd
Elton Elliott
Micaiah "Huw" Evans
Nicole Feldl
Emily Firman
Davis Fox
Tyler Franck
Janet Freeman-Daily
Laura Friis
Kate Gentry
Don Glover
Vicki Glover
John Grace
Neile Graham
Caren Gussoff
Lee Hallison
Stacie Hanes
James Harper
David Haugen
Terri Haugen
Alec Helms
Randy Henderson
Mark Hennon
Judith Herman
James Herndon
Jana Hobbs
Kathryn Hoppe
Nicholas Houser
Leslie Howle
Christy Johnson
Kij Johnson
Lucas Johnson
Sunand Joshi
Kodiak Julian
Georgina Kamsika
Jerry Kaufman
Keffy Kehrli
James Patrick Kelly
David Kittrell
Linda Knower
Donald Lacky
Jay Lake
Jeffrey Lemkin
Henry Lien
Jennifer Lockhart
Ross E. Lockhart
Marci Malinowycz
Helen Marshall
Seelye Martin
Angela McCoy
Tod McCoy
Mary Mellott
Francesca Myman
Kimberly Neville
William F. Nolan
Bridget Norquist
Doug Odell
Erik Owomoyela
Brooks Peck
John Pitts
Cat Rambo
Shannon Rothe
Alan Rousselle
Cory Skerry
Jack Skillingstead
Catherine Smith
Guy Smith
Carlie St. George
Vicki Saunders
James L. Sutter
Patrick Swenson
Bruce Taylor
Suzle Tompkins
Liza Groen Trombi
Daniel Trefethen
Pierce Watters
Marlow Weaver
Burt Webb
Eric Weber
Jacob Weisman
Greg West
Duane Wilkins
Connie Willis
Courtney Willis
Mark Wood


Thanks to and NW Media Arts for their assistance and sponsorship of the Locus Awards events.


2012 Locus Awards Tickets

© 2012 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.