Locus Online

News Log

World Fantasy nominations

Poul Anderson dies

External Links

Links Portal

Other SFFH News sites:
Sci-Fi Wire

Monday 3 September 2001

Hugo Awards Winners

Top row, left to right: Gardner Dozois; Mike Glyer; Charles N. Brown; Martin Hoare (accepting for Dave Langford as fan writer); David G. Hartwell (accepting for David Langford for short story); Bob Eggleton; Craig Miller (accepting for Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon); Sean McMullen (accepting for Greg Egan, Seiun Award); Steve Francis (Big Heart Award); Robert Crossley (accepting for Olaf Stapledon, Cordwainer Award); Front row: Teddy Harvia; Eleanor Wood (accepting for Jack Williamson); Gay Ellen Dennett (accepting for J.K. Rowling); Sheila Williams (accepting for Kristine Kathryn Rusch); Joanie Knappenberger (accepting for Frank Robinson, First Fandom Award); Kristine Smith (Campbell New Writer Award; Sue Francis (Big Heart Award)

§ The 2001 Hugo Awards, voted by members of the 2001 World Science Fiction Convention, were announced Sunday evening, September 2, 2001, at the Millennium Philcon in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, J.K. Rowling (Bloomsbury; Scholastic/Levine)
  • "The Ultimate Earth", Jack Williamson (Analog Dec 2000)
  • "Millennium Babies", Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Asimov's Jan 2000)
  • "Different Kinds of Darkness", David Langford (F&SF Jan 2000)
  • Greetings from Earth: The Art of Bob Eggleton, Bob Eggleton & Nigel Suckling (Paper Tiger)
  • Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (directed by Ang Lee)
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Bob Eggleton
  • Locus, ed. Charles N. Brown
  • File 770, ed. Mike Glyer
  • Dave Langford
  • Teddy Harvia
  • §
    John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer [not a Hugo]
  • Kristine Smith
  • This page lists the results with links to voting details for each category.

    Other awards presented at the Hugo Awards Ceremony were...

    • The first Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award was presented to Olaf Stapledon.
    • The Big Heart Award went to Steve and Sue Francis, with a certificate to honor the late Dr. Donald A. Reed.
    • The First Fandom Hall of Fame Award was presented to Frank Robinson.
    • Seiun Awards were presented to Robert J. Sawyer's novel Frameshift, and Greg Egan's novella "Oceanic".
    In other news from this year's World SF Convention...
    • Boston won the bid to host the convention in 2004.
    • Winners of the 16th annual Chesley Awards for SF and fantasy art included John Jude Palencar for best hardback cover illustration, Jean Pierre Targete for best paperback illustration, and Frank Kelly Freas for Artistic Achievement; the full list is posted here
    • David Gerrold's novel Jumping Off the Planet won two awards this weekend: The Hal Clement (Young Adult) Award category of the Golden Duck Awards (for excellence in children's SF), and a Gaylactic Network Spectrum Award (for works featuring positive gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender content).
    • Other Golden Duck winners were Nancy Etchemendy's The Power of UN and Robert Gould & Kathleen Duey's Rex, illustrated by Eugene Epstein.
    • Other Gaylactic Spectrum winners were Buffy the Vampire Slayer (for both Best Other Work, and People's Choice); Samuel R. Delany for special achievement; and Hall of Fame entries Imperial Earth by Arthur C. Clarke, The Sparrow and Children of God by Mary Doria Russell, and The Weetzie Bat Series by Francesca Lia Block.

    © 2001 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. | Subscribe to Locus Magazine | E-mail Locus | Privacy | Advertise