Locus Online
Saturday 26 April 2008

Nebula Awards Winners

Winners of this year's Nebula Awards, presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, were announced this evening, Saturday April 26, 2008, in Austin, Texas. The SFWA News page has a photograph of the winners.

NOVEL chabon
  • The Yiddish Policemen's Union , Michael Chabon (HarperCollins)
  • NOVELLA fsf
  • "Fountain of Age", Nancy Kress (Asimov's Jul 2007)

  • NOVELETTE chabon
  • "The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate", Ted Chiang (F&SF Sep 2007; Subterranean Press)

  • SHORT STORY asimovs
  • "Always", Karen Joy Fowler (Asimov's Apr/May 2007)

  • SCRIPT pans labyrinth
  • Pan's Labyrinth, Guillermo del Toro

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, J.K. Rowling (Scholastic)

  • As previously announced, Michael Moorcock was presented the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award, and Melisa Michaels and Graham P. Collins were presented with SFWA Service Awards.

    These are first Nebula Award wins for Michael Chabon and Guillermo del Toro. Nancy Kress has won three times previously, most recently for "The Flowers of Aulit Prison" in 1988; Ted Chiang has also won three times previously, most recently for "Hell is the Absence of God" in 2003 -- in fact, Chiang has now won the Nebula all four times that he has been nominated; and Karen Joy Fowler won the award once before, in 2004 for short story "What I Didn't See".

    J.K. Rowling has never been nominated for an SFWA Award previously; this is her first win, for this third year of SFWA's Andre Norton Award, created to honor young adult SF/F novels and named in honor of the late SFWA Grand Master.

    © 2008 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.