Locus Online
Friday 22 February 2008

Nebula Awards Final Ballot

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have released the final ballot for this year's Nebula Awards. Winners will be announced at a banquet during Nebula Awards Weekend in Austin, Texas, on April 26, 2008

  • The Accidental Time Machine, Joe Haldeman (Ace)
  • The New Moon's Arms, Nalo Hopkinson (Warner)
  • Odyssey, Jack McDevitt (Ace 2006)
  • Ragamuffin, Tobias S. Buckell (Tor)
  • The Yiddish Policeman's Union, Michael Chabon (HarperCollins)
  • "Awakening", Judith Berman (Black Gate Spr 2007)
  • "Fountain of Age", Nancy Kress (Asimov's Jul 2007)
  • "The Helper and His Hero", Matt Hughes (F&SF Feb,Mar 2007)
  • "Kiosk", Bruce Sterling (F&SF Jan 2007)
  • "Memorare", Gene Wolfe (F&SF Apr 2007)
  • "Stars Seen through Stone", Lucius Shepard (F&SF Jul 2007)
  • "Child, Maiden, Mother, Crone", Terry Bramlett (Jim Baen's Universe Jun 2007)
  • "The Children's Crusade", Robin Wayne Bailey (Heroes in Training)
  • "The Evolution of Trickster Stories Among the Dogs Of North Park After the Change", Kij Johnson (The Coyote Road)
  • "The Fiddler of Bayou Teche", Delia Sherman (The Coyote Road)
  • "The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate", Ted Chiang (F&SF Sep 2007)
  • "Pol Pot's Beautiful Daughter (Fantasy)", Geoff Ryman (F&SF Oct/Nov 2006)
  • "Safeguard", Nancy Kress (Asimov's Jan 2007)
  • "Always", Karen Joy Fowler (Asimov's Apr/May 2007)
  • "Captive Girl", Jennifer Pelland (Helix #2 Fall 2006)
  • "Pride", Mary Turzillo (Fast Forward 1)
  • "The Story of Love", Vera Nazarian (Salt of the Air 2006)
  • "Titanium Mike Saves the Day", David D. Levine (F&SF Apr 2007)
  • "Unique Chicken Goes In Reverse", Andy Duncan (Eclipse One)
  • Children of Men, Alfonso Cuaron, Timothy J. Sexton, David Arata, Mark Fergus & Hawk Ostby (Universal Studios)
  • Doctor Who: Blink, Steven Moffat (BBC/The Sci-Fi Channel)
  • Pan's Labyrinth, Guillermo del Toro (Time/Warner)
  • The Prestige, Christopher Nolan & Jonathan Nolan (Newmarket Films, Oct06 based on the novel by Christopher Priest)
  • Star Trek: New Voyages: World Enough and Time, Marc Scott Zicree & Michael Reaves (
  • V for Vendetta, Larry Wachowski & Andy Wachowski (Warner Films, based on the graphic novel illustrated by David Lloyd)
  • Flora Segunda, Ysabeau S. Wilce (Harcourt)
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, J. K. Rowling (Scholastic/Arthur A. Levine Books)
  • Into the Wild, Sarah Beth Durst (Razorbill)
  • The Lion Hunter, Elizabeth Wein (Viking Juvenile)
  • The Shadow Speaker, Nnedi Okorafor-Mbachu (Hyperion/Jump at the Sun)
  • The True Meaning of Smekday, Adam Rex (Hyperion)
  • Vintage: A Ghost Story, Steve Berman (Haworth)
  • This year's final ballot includes first-time Nebula nominations for Tobias S. Buckell and Michael Chabon (novel), Judith Berman and Matt Hughes (novella), Robin Wayne Bailey and Terry Bramlett (novelette), and David D. Levine, Vera Nazarian, and Jennifer Pelland (short story). All of the finalists for the Andre Norton Award -- which, though voted in the same process as the Nebulas, is technically not a Nebula Award, but a separate award also presented by the SFWA -- have never been nominated for a Nebula.

    Other nominees this year include 5-time winner Joe Haldeman, 3-time winners Nancy Kress (who's nominated twice this year) and Ted Chiang, and 2-time winner Gene Wolfe. Jack McDevitt, who won his first Nebula last year, is nominated in the novel category again this year. Disregarding past wins, Gene Wolfe has been nominated for the Nebula more often any other of this year's nominees -- this year's nomination is Wolfe's 20th. McDevitt follows, his nomination this year his 14th.

    See Nebula Nominees List for a complete list of past nominations and wins, including this year's finalists.

    The Nebula Awards are voted on and presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. They were first presented in 1966 for works published in 1965. Current eligibility rules allow any particular work to accumulate recommendations from SFWA members for 12 months following publication, with all works receiving the minimum number of recommendations by the end of each year placed on a preliminary ballot and voted to determine final ballot nominees. An effect of this system is that some works do not reach the final ballot until the second year following their original publication; thus this year's ballot includes works from 2006 and 2007 -- though remarkably, this year's ballot includes more works from the immediately preceding year than any other since this rule was implemented. (See SFWA's Nebula Rules for details.) In addition, jurists for each category have the option of adding a nominee to those from the preliminary ballot, an option most juries exercise. (This year's preliminary ballot is posted here.)

    © 2008 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.