Spectrum Open for Submissions

Spectrum 24 is open for submissions until January 25, 2017. The annual art collection highlights “the best and brightest creators of fantastic art from around the globe: it serves as an invaluable resource book for art directors, art buyers, publishers and agents world-wide.” Judges this year include Christian Alzmann, Laurie Lee, Brom, Mark Newman, Victo Ngai, and John Picacio, and chosen entrants will be notified in April 2017.

For more ...Read More

Read more

Spectrum 18 Awards

The 2011 Spectrum 18 Awards winners were announced in Kansas City MO, March 12, 2011.


  • Gold: “Narco Americano”, Ryohei Hase (Playboy)
  • Silver: “The Fisherman’s Wife”, Sam Weber (The Society of Illustrators)


  • Gold: “God’s War”, David Palumbo (Night Shade)
  • Silver: “White Trash Zombie”, Dan Dos Santos (DAW)


  • Gold: “A Flight of Angels”, Rebecca Guay (Vertigo/DC Comics)
  • Silver: “Sleep”, David Palumbo (Last Minute Comics)
  • Silver: “Fables 96 Cover”, Joao
...Read More Read more

2010 Chesley Awards Nominees

The 2010 Chesley Awards nominees have been announced:

Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book:

  • Bob Eggleton, for Dragon’s Ring (by Dave Freer; Baen)
  • Todd Lockwood, for A Magic of Nightfall (by S.L. Farrell; DAW)
  • John Picacio, for Drood (by Dan Simmons; Subterranean)
  • Omar Rayyan, for Magic Mirrors (by John Bellairs; NESFA)
  • Rohb Ruppel, for Visions of Never (by Patrick & Jeannie Wilshire, eds.; Vanguard)
  • Dan Dos Santos, for Green (by
...Read More Read more

Spectrum Exhibit in New York

The Spectrum exhibit, featuring a selection of over 120 works from top contemporary fantastic artists, will be on display from September 1 through October 17 2009 at the Society of Illustrators, 128 East 63rd Street, New York. Artists include Julie Bell, Kinuko Y. Craft, Eric Fortune, William Basso, Brom, James Gurney, Tony DiTerlizzi, Terese Nielsen, Yuko Shimizu, Michael Whelan, Donato Giancola, John Jude Palencar, Phil Hale, and many more.

The ...Read More

Read more

2009 Chesley Awards Winners

The 24th annual Chesley Awards were announced at Anticipation, the 2009 Worldcon in Montréal, on August 7, 2009. The Chesley Awards were established in 1985 as ASFA’s peer awards to recognize individual works and achievements during a given year.


  • Donato Giancola, for A Book of Wizards (by Marvin Kaye, ed.; SFBC)
  • Stephan Martiniere, for The Dragons of Babel (by Michael Swanwick; Tor)
  • Scott Fischer, for An Evil
...Read More Read more