2023 Future Worlds Prize Winner

The Future Worlds Prize for Fantasy and Science Fiction Writers of Colour, for “unpublished writers of colour based in the UK” announced the winner of the Future Worlds prize.

  • WINNER: What the Crew Wants, Mahmud El Sayed
  • RUNNER UP: Light at Midnight, Ali Mahdi
  • Firstborn of the Sun, Marvellous Michael Anson
  • Dawn in Arborellum, Ama Josephine Budge
  • The Archer and the Oracle, Anne Elicaño-Shields
  • The Taste of a Planet, Arianne Maki
  • The Breath of Silence, Melanie Reynard
  • Wisteria Chumleigh, Calah Singleton

The judges were Aliette de Bodard, Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson, Nikita Gill, and Syima Aslam. The winner receives £4,000, the runner-up £2,000, and the six shortlisted authors each receive £800. Shortlistees also receive mentoring from one of the prize’s publishing partners. The prize is funded by author Ben Aaronovitch and actor Adjoa Andoh. The 2021 prize was won by M.H. Ayinde, and the 2020 prize was won by Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson. The Future Worlds Prize was formerly the Gollancz and Rivers of London BAME SFF Award.

For more information, see the prize’s website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *