2023 Aurora Awards Ballot

The 2023 Aurora Awards ballot for works by Canadians has been announced. The Aurora Awards are nominated by members of the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association. The top five nominated works were selected, with additional works included when there was a tie for fifth place.

Best Novel

  • The Embroidered Book, Kate Heartfield (HarperVoyager)
  • All the Seas of the World, Guy Gavriel Kay (Penguin Canada)
  • The Void Ascendant, Premee Mohamed (Solaris)
  • The Daughter of Doctor Moreau, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Del Rey)
  • Sea of Tranquility, Emily St. John Mandel (HarperCollins)

Best YA Novel

  • Black Hole Radio – Ka’Azula, Ann Birdgenaw (DartFrog)
  • Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove, Rati Mehrotra (Wednesday Books)
  • Ghostlight, Kenneth Oppel (Puffin Canada)
  • The Hollow Boys, Douglas Smith (Spiral Path)
  • Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor, Xiran Jay Zhao (Margaret K. McElderry)

Best Novelette/Novella

  • “A Sky and a Heaven”, Eric Choi (Just Like Being There)
  • The Jade Setter of Janloon, Fonda Lee (Subterranean)
  • Even Though I Knew the End, C.L. Polk (Tordotcom)
  • The Tiger Came to the Mountains, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Amazon Original Stories)
  • High Times in the Low Parliament, Kelly Robson (Tordotcom)

Best Short Story

  • “The Five Rules of Supernova Surfing, or A for Real Solution to the Fermi Paradox, Bro”, Geoffrey W. Cole (Clarkesworld 1/22)
  • “A New Brave World”, Eric Choi (Brave New Worlds)
  • “Schrödinger’s Cats”, Wayne Cusack (Polar Borealis 22)
  • Douen”, Suzan Palumbo (The Dark 3/22)
  • “Broken Vow: The Adventures of Flick Gibson, Intergalactic Videographer”, Peter G. Reynolds (On Spec 120)
  • “We Are the Thing That Lives on the Moon”, Gillian Secord (Fireside 3/22)
  • “Big Trouble in Droidtown”, Hayden Trenholm (The Astronaut Always Rings Twice)
  •  “Green Witch”, Elizabeth Whitton (Prairie Witch)

Best Graphic Novel/Comic

  • Wychwood, Ally Rom Colthoff (www.wychwoodcomic.com)
  • Birds of Maine, Michael DeForge (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • Questionable Content, Jeph Jacques (questionablecontent.net)
  • Cupcake War Machine, Marika Kapogeorgakis (cupcakewarmachine.thecomicseries.com)
  • Mistress of the Winds, Michèle Laframboise (Echofictions)
  • It Never Rains, Kari Maaren (itneverrainscomic.com)
  • Goblins, Ellipsis Hana Stephens (www.goblinscomic.com)

Best Related Work

  • The Astronaut Always Rings Twice, Shannon Allen & JR Campbell, eds. (Tyche)
  • Nothing Without Us Too, Cait Gordon & Talia C. Johnson, eds. (Renaissance)
  • Prairie Witch, Stacey Kondla, ed. (Prairie Soul)
  • Strange Wars: Speculative Fiction of Coalitions in Conflict, Don Miasek, ed. (TDotSpec)
  • On Spec issues 119, 120, and 121, Diane Walton, managing editor (The Copper Pig Writers’ Society)

Best Poem/Song

  • After the Apocalypse, Colleen Anderson (NewMyths 12/22)
  • “Three Herons”, Geoffrey W. Cole (Polar Starlight 5)
  • “Ghost Stories”, James Grotkowski (Polar Starlight 6)
  • “a sinkhole invites a street to consider its future”, Dominik Parisien (Uncanny 1-2/22)
  • “Poltergeist”, Rhonda Parrish (Star*Line Spring ’22)
  • In Stock Images of the Future, Everything is White, Terese Mason Pierre (Uncanny 5-6/22)
  • “The Wolf of Your Passions”, Lynne Sargent (Augur 5.2)
  •  “Rapunzel in the Desert”, Melissa Yuan-Innes (On Spec Winter ’22)

Best Cover Art/Interior Illustration

  • “The World We Left Behind” by Swati Chavda (On Spec Spring ’22)
  • The Astronaut Always Rings Twice cover art by Kayla Kowalyk (Tyche)
  • Arboreality cover art by Rachel Yu Lobbenberg (Stelliform)
  • Birthday of the Unicorn cover art by Marco Marin (TdotSpec)
  • Weird Fishes cover art by Julia Louise Pereira (Stelliform)

Best Fan Writing and Publications

  • Polar Borealis issues 21, 22, and 23, edited by R. Graeme Cameron
  • JenEric Movie Reviews, Éric Desmarais (JenEric Designs)
  • The Travelling TARDIS, Jennifer Desmarais (JenEric Designs)
  • Young People Read Old SFF, James Davis Nicoll, ed. (youngpeoplereadoldsff.com)
  • Polar Starlight issues 5, 6, and 7, edited by Rhea E. Rose

Best Fan Related Work

  • ephemera Reading Series, KT Bryski & Jen R. Albert, co-chairs
  • Augurcon, Terese Mason Pierre & Kerry C. Byrne, co-directors, Toria Liao, operations director
  • Can*Con, Marie Bilodeau & Derek Künsken, co-chairs
  • When Words Collide, Randy McCharles, chair
  • The Worldshapers Podcast, Edward Willett

An online awards ceremony will be held August 19, 2023, hosted by Mark Leslie Lefebvre and Liz Anderson. For more information, see the Aurora Awards website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *