2022 BSFA Awards Winners

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe winners for the 2022 British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) Awards have been announced.

Best Novel

  • WINNER: City of Last Chances, Adrian Tchaikovsky (Head of Zeus)
  • The Red Scholar’s Wake, Aliette de Bodard (Gollancz)
  • Stars and Bones, Gareth Powell (Titan)
  • The This, Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
  • The Coral Bones, E.J. Swift (Unsung Stories)

Best Short Fiction (under 40,000 words)

  • WINNER: Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances, Aliette de Bodard (JABberwocky)
  • “Seller’s Remorse”, Rick Danforth (Hexagon 11)
  • Luca, Or Luca (Luna)
  • Ogres, Adrian Tchaikovsky (Solaris)
  • “A Moment of Zugzwang”, Neil Williiamson (ParSec 4)

Best Non-Fiction

  • WINNER: Terry Pratchett: A Life with Footnotes, Rob Wilkins (Doubleday)
  • “Too Dystopian for Whom? A Continental Nigerian Writer’s Perspective”, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Uncanny 9/10/22)
  • Management Lessons from Game of Thrones: Organization Theory and Strategy in Westeros, Fiona Moore (Edward Elgar)
  • “The Critic and the Clue: Tracking Alan Garner’s Treacle Walker“, Maureen Kincaid Speller (Strange Horizons 1/21/22)
  • “Preliminary Observations from an Incomplete History of African SFF”, Wole Talabi (SFWA.org 6/1/22)

Best Book for Young Readers

  • WINNER: Unraveller, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan Children’s)
  • Violet Made of Thorns, Gina Chen (Hodder and Stoughton)
  • Her Majesty’s Royal Coven, Juno Dawson (Harper Voyager)
  • Mindwalker, Kate Dylan (Hodder and Stoughton)
  • Illuminations, T. Kingfisher (Argyll)
  • Only a Monster, Vanessa Len (Hodder and Stoughton)
  • Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor, Xiran Jay Zhao (Margaret K. McElderry)

Best Artwork

  • WINNER: Alyssa Winans, cover for The Red Scholar’s Wake by Aliette de Bodard (Gollancz)
  • Chris Baker, cover for Shoreline of Infinity 32
  • Miguel Co, cover for Song of the Mango and Other New Myths by Vida Cruz-Borja (Ateneo De Manila University Press)
  • Manzi Jackson, cover for Africa Risen: A New Era of Speculative Fiction, edited by Sheree Renée Thomas & Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki & Zelda Knight (Tor)
  • Jay Johnstone, cover for The Way the Light Bends by Lorraine Wilson (Luna)
  • Vincent Sammy, cover for Parsec 4

The awards were voted on by members of BSFA and the British Annual Science Fiction Convention (Eastercon). The winners were announced during Conversation, this year’s Eastercon, held April 7-10, 2023 at the Birmingham NEC Hilton. For more information, see the BSFA website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *