2023 Audie Awards Winners

The Audio Publishers Association has announced the 2023 Audie Awards winners, recognizing excellence in audiobooks and spoken word entertainment. Winners of genre interest follow.

Science Fiction

  • WINNER: Intergalactic Exterminators, Inc, Ash Bishop, narrated by Scott Brick and Suzanne Elise Freeman (CamCat Books)
  • Ymir, Rich Larson, narrated by Alan Medcroft (Hachette Audio)
  • How High We Go in the Dark, Sequoia Nagamatsu, narrated by Julia Whelan, Brian Nishii, Keisuke Hoashi, MacLeod Andrews, Jeanne Sakata, Greg Watanabe, Kurt Kanazawa, Matthew Bridges, Kotaro Watanabe, Brianna Ishibashi, Joe Knezevich, Micky Shiloah, Stephanie Komure, and Jason Culp (HarperAudio)
  • No Kindness Too Soon, Sylvain Neuvel, narrated by Melanie Nicholls-King, Deepti Gupta, Neil Hellegers, Gabriel Vaughan, Kathy Searle, Imani Jade Powers, Nicolette Chin, Gopal Divan, and Garrett Michael Brown (Audible Originals)
  • Noor, Nnedi Okorafor, narrated by Délé Ogundiran (Tantor Audio)


  • WINNER: The Monsters We Defy, Leslye Penelope, narrated by Shayna Small (Hachette Audio)
  • Legends & Lattes, written and narrated by Travis Baldree (Macmillan Audio)
  • Cold as Hell, Rhett C. Bruno & Jaime Castle, narrated by Roger Clark (Blackstone)
  • The Art of Prophecy, Wesley Chu, narrated by Natalie Naudus (Penguin Random House Audio)
  • Good Omens, Neil Gaiman & Terry Prachett, performed by Rebecca Front, Michael Sheen, David Tennant, Katherine Kingsley, Arthur Darvill, Peter Forbes, Gabrielle Glaister, Louis Davison, Pixie Davis, Chris Nelson, Ferdinand Frisby Williams, Adjoa Andoh, Allan Corduner, Kobna Holdbrook-Smith, John Hopkins, Lorelei King, Matt Reeves, and Lemn Sissay (HarperAudio)

Best Female Narrator

  • WINNER: The Eye of the World, Robert Jordan, narrated by Rosamund Pike (Macmillan Audio)
  • Thistlefoot, GennaRose Nethercott, narrated by January Lavoy (Penguin Random House Audio)

Best Male Narrator

  • WINNER: Fairy Tale, Stephen King, narrated by Seth Numrich (Simon & Schuster Audio)
  • Sleepwalk, Dan Chaon, narrated by John Pirhalla (Macmillan Audio)

Middle Grade

  • WINNER: Stuntboy, in the Meantime, Jason Reynolds, narrated by Guy Lockard, Nile Bullock, Angel Pean, James Fouhey, Soneela Nankani, Leon Nixon, Chanté McCormick, Lamarr Gulley, and DePre Owens (Simon & Schuster Audio)
  • The Ogress and the Orphans, Kelly Barnhill, narrated bu Suzanne Toren (Hachette Audio)
  • Coraline, Neil Gaiman, performed by Julian Rhind-Tutt, Pixie Davies, Katherine Kingsley, Julian Clary, Jacqueline Boatswain, Kevin McNally, Adjoa Andoh, Adrian Schiller, Heather Nicol, William Parker, and Nicole Davis (HarperAudio)
  • The Last Mapmaker, Christina Soontornvat, narrated by Sura Siu (OrangeSky Audio)

Young Adult

  • WINNER: Demon in the Wood Graphic Novel, Leigh Bardugo, narrated by Ben Barnes, Benjamin Valic, Cassandra Morris, Eason Rytter, James Fouhey, Mary McCartney, Matt Leisy, Salli Saffioti, Sean Gormley, and Tom Bromhead (Macmillan Audio)
  • The Drowned Woods, Emily Lloyd-Jones, narrated by Moira Quirk (Hachette Audio)

The winners were announced at a virtual awards ceremony on March 28, 2023. For more information, including a complete list of finalists, see the Audio Publishers Association website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *