2023 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards

The Upwelling by Lystra Rose (Hachette Australia) won the Prize for Indigenous Writing and We Who Hunt the Hollow by Kate Murray (Hardie Grant Children’s) won the Prize for Writing for Young Adults in the 2023 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards, announced February 2, 2023.

The awards, administered by the Wheeler Centre in Melbourne, Australia on behalf of the Premier of Victoria, were inaugurated by the Victorian Government in 1985 to honor Australian writing. Winners of the fiction, non-fiction, drama, poetry, young adult, and Indigenous Writing categories each receive A$25,000. The winner of the prize for an unpublished manuscript receives A$15,000. One overall winner for the Victorian Prize for Literature receives an additional A$100,000.

For more information, including a complete list of winners and finalists, see the Wheeler Centre website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *