2023 Canopus Awards Winners

Winners for the 100 Year Starship (100YSS) 2023 Canopus Awards for Excellence in Interstellar Writing have been announced. Canopus recognizes “the finest fiction and non-fiction works that expand our understanding of the challenges, opportunities, pitfalls, and rewards of interstellar space exploration.”

Published Long-Form Fiction (40,000 words or more)

  • WINNER: Sentient, Jeff Lemire and Gabriel Hernandez Walta (TKO)

Published Short-Form Fiction (between 1,000 and 40,000 words)

  • WINNER: “The Hind”, Kevin J. Anderson & Rick Wilber (Asimov’s 11-12/20)
  • “Generations”, Osahon Ize-Iyamu (Bikes Not Rockets)
  • “A Sun Will Always Sing”, Karin Lowachee (TheVerge.com 2/19)
  • “Tau Ceti Said What?”, Jack McDevitt (Asimov’s Science Fiction 11-12/21)
  • “Verisya”, Mari Ness (Daily Science Fiction 7/22)
  • “Repairs at the Beijing West Space Elevator”, Alex Shvartsman (Analog 5-6/19)
  • “Drift-Flux”, Wole Talabi (AfroSFv3)

Published Long-Form Nonfiction (between 1,000 and 40,000 words)

Published Short Form Nonfiction

  • WINNER: “Language Development During Interstellar Travel”, Alex McKenzie and J. Punske (Acta Futura 2020)
  • “Joining the ‘Galactic Club’: What Price Admission? A Hypothetical Case Study of the Impact of Human Rights on a Future Accession of Humanity to Interstellar Civilization Networks”, Michael Bohlander (Futures 2021)
  • “Artificial Intelligence for Interstellar Travel”, Andreas M. Hein and Stephen Baxter (Journal of the British Interplanetary Society 2018)
  • “Navigation and Star Identification for an Interstellar Mission”, Paul McKee, Jacob Kowalski, and John A. Christian (Acta Astronautica 2022)
  • “Migrating Extraterrestrial Civilizations and Interstellar Colonization: Implications for SETI and SETA”, Irina K. Romanovskaya (International Journal of Astrobiology 2022)

Published Digital Presentation

  • WINNER: Ixion, Bulwark Studios

Original Short Form Fiction

  • WINNER: “The Living Archaeologist”, Jamiella Brooks
  • “The Interlopers”, Robert Buckalew
  • “We Should Have Guessed”, Terry Franklin
  • “Tess 16201c”, Faith Guptill
  • “Ortygia”, Scott Jessop

Original Local Short Form Fiction

  • WINNER: “Gumbojena”, Chioniso Tsikisayi
  • “Space Frenemies”, Oluwatoyin Magbagbeola
  • “One More Chance”, Chioma Mildred Okonkwo
  • “Incubation”, Amadin Ogbewe

Twenty-four judges were separated into categories to vote on winners from shortlisted candidates. Winners were honored with an award sculpture made of optical crystal during the 100YSS Nexus held in Nairobi, Kenya.

For more information about 100 Year Starship and the Canopus Awards, see their official website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *