2022 National Book Awards Winners

The winners of the National Book Awards (NBA) in the Fiction, Translated Literature, and Young People’s Literature categories were announced at the 73rd National Book Awards Ceremony, held November 16, 2023 in New York.

Author and artist Art Spiegelman received the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, presented by Neil Gaiman.

Winners of genre interest include All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir (Razorbil) in the Young People’s Literature category and Seven Empty Houses by Samanta Schweblin, translated by Megan McDowell (Riverhead/Penguin Random), in the Translated Literature category.

There were 296 submissions for the Young People’s Literature award; the judges were Becky Albertalli, Joseph Bruchac, Meghan Dietsche Goel, Jewell Parker Rhodes (chair), and Lilliam Rivera. Publishers submitted 146 books for the Translated Literature award; the judges were Nick Buzanski, Veronica Esposito, Ann Goldstein (Chair), Rohan Kamicheril, and Russell Scott Valentino.

For more details, and to watch the ceremony, visit the National Book Awards website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *