SF Debuts Writing Prize Shortlist

Science Museum in London and UK publisher Hodder & Stoughton have announced the shortlist for their inaugural Science Fiction Debuts Writing Prize.

  • Twice-World, Richard Caves
  • Saturnine, Chris Chiam
  • Children of Clayby, Alexander James
  • Emotional Transport, Ruth E. Newton
  • The Forest That Eats Bone, Laura Tisdall
  • The Measurement Problem, David Whitmarsh

To qualify, “writers must be unpublished and not represented by a literary agent, and residents of the United Kingdom.” The author of the winning entry will receive £4,000, a six-month mentorship with Hodderscape editorial director Molly Powell, introduction to three literary agents, and a full critique. The runner-up will receive £2,000 and a critique, and shortlisted authors will get £800. The winner will be chosen in January 2023 by a panel which includes Stevie Finnegan, Jo Fletcher, Gaby Lee, and Yudhanjaya Wijeratne.

For more information, see the official announcement.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *