2022 WSFA Small Press Award Winner

“Eight Mile and the City” by Steven Harper (When Worlds Collide) is the winner of the 2022 Washington Science Fiction Association (WSFA) Small Press Award for Short Fiction.

Other finalists were:

  • “Space Pirate Queen of the Ten Billion Utopias”, Elly Bangs (Lightspeed 11/21)
  • “Standing Orders”, Sharon Lee & Steve Miller (Derelicts)
  • “The Birdsong Fossil”, DK Mok (Multispecies Cities: Solarpunk Urban Futures)
  • “Laughter Among the Trees”, Suzan Palumbo (The Dark 2/21)
  • “Dress of Ash”, Y.M. Pang (Seasons Between Us: Tales of Identities and Memories)
  • “A Universe All to Himself”, Ryan Priest (Metaphorosis 4/21)
  • “From the Ashes Flew the Ladybug”, Alexandra Seidel (The Deadlands 11/21)
  • “A Stranger Goes Ashore”, Adam R. Shannon (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 4/22/21)
  • “Fisherman’s Soup”, Kristina Ten (Mermaids Monthly 5/21)

The award, recognizing “the best original short fiction published by small presses in the previous year,” was presented at Capclave, held September 30 – October 2, 2022 at the Rockville Hilton in Rockville MD. The winner was chosen by members of WSFA. For more, see the WSFA Small Press Award site.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *