2022 Hugo, Astounding, and Lodestar Awards Winners

Winners for the Hugo Awards, the Astounding Award for Best New Writer, and the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book were announced by Chicon, the 80th World Science Fiction Convention on September 4, 2022 in Chicago.

Best Novel

WINNER: A Desolation Called Peace, Arkady Martine (Tor; Tor UK)

Best Novella

WINNER: A Psalm for the Wild-Built, Becky Chambers (Tordotcom)

Best Novelette

WINNER: “Bots of the Lost Ark”, Suzanne Palmer (Clarkesworld 6/21)

  • “O2 Arena”, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Galaxy’s Edge 11/21)
  • “L’Esprit de L’Escalier”, Catherynne M. Valente (Tor.com 8/25/21)
  • “Unseelie Brothers, Ltd.”, Fran Wilde (Uncanny 5-6/21)
  • “That Story Isn’t the Story”, John Wiswell (Uncanny 11-12/21)
  • “Colors of the Immortal Palette”, Caroline M. Yoachim (Uncanny 3-4/21)

Best Short Story

WINNER: Where Oaken Hearts Do Gather”, Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny 3-4/21)“

  • “Mr. Death”, Alix E. Harrow (Apex 2/21)
  • “Proof by Induction”, José Pablo Iriarte (Uncanny 5-6/21)
  • “Tangles”, Seanan McGuire (com: Magic Story 9/21)
  • “Unknown Number”, Blue Neustifter (Twitter 7/21)
  • “The Sin of America”, Catherynne M. Valente (Uncanny 3-4/21)

Best Series

WINNER: Wayward Children, Seanan McGuire (Tordotcom)

  • The World of the White Rat, Kingfisher (Ursula Vernon) (Argyll)
  • The Green Bone Saga, Fonda Lee (Orbit)
  • Terra Ignota, Ada Palmer (Tor)
  • The Kingston Cycle, C.L. Polk (Tordotcom)
  • Merchant Princes, Charles Stross (Tor UK; Tor)

Best Related Work

WINNER: Never Say You Can’t Survive, Charlie Jane Anders (Tordotcom)

Best Graphic Story or Comic

WINNER: Far Sector, N.K. Jemisin, art by Jamal Campbell (DC)

  • Die, Volume 4: Bleed, Kieron Gillen, art by Stephanie Hans, lettering by Clayton Cowles (Image)
  • Once & Future, Volume 3: The Parliament of Magpies, Kieron Gillen, art by Dan Mora, colored by Tamra Bonvillain (BOOM!)
  • Strange Adventures, Tom King, art by Mitch Gerads & Evan “Doc” Shaner (DC)
  • Monstress, Volume 6: The Vow, Marjorie Liu, art by Sana Takeda (Image)
  • Lore Olympus, Volume 1, Rachel Smythe (Del Rey)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form


  • Encanto
  • The Green Knight
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
  • Space Sweepers
  • WandaVision

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

WINNER: The Expanse:Nemesis Games”

  • Arcane: “The Monster You Created”
  • For All Mankind: “The Grey”
  • Loki: “The Nexus Event”
  • Star Trek: Lower Decks: “wej Duj”
  • The Wheel of Time: “The Flame of Tar Valon”

Best Editor, Short Form

WINNER: Neil Clarke

  • Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki
  • Mur Lafferty & S.B. Divya
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Sheree Renée Thomas
  • Sheila Williams

Best Editor, Long Form

WINNER: Ruoxi Chen

  • Nivia Evans
  • Sarah T. Guan
  • Patrick Nielsen Hayden
  • Brit Hvide
  • Navah Wolfe

Best Professional Artist

WINNER: Rovina Cai

  • Tommy Arnold
  • Ashley Mackenzie
  • Maurizio Manzieri
  • Will Staehle
  • Alyssa Winans

Best Semiprozine

WINNER: Uncanny

  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Escape Pod
  • PodCastle
  • Strange Horizons

Best Fanzine

WINNER: Small Gods

  • The Full Lid
  • Galactic Journey
  • Journey Planet
  • Quick Sip Reviews
  • Unofficial Hugo Book Club Blog

Best Fancast

WINNER: Our Opinions Are Correct

  • Be The Serpent
  • The Coode Street Podcast
  • Hugo, Girl!
  • Octothorpe
  • Worldbuilding for Masochists

Best Fan Writer

WINNER: Cora Buhlert

  • Chris M. Barkley
  • Bitter Karella
  • Alex Brown
  • Jason Sanford
  • Paul Weimer

Best Fan Artist

WINNER: Lee Moyer

  • Iain J. Clark
  • Lorelei Esther
  • Sara Felix
  • Ariela Housman
  • Nilah Magruder

Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book (Not a Hugo)

WINNER: The Last Graduate, Naomi Novik (Del Rey; Del Rey UK)

Astounding Award for Best New Writer (Not a Hugo)

WINNER: Shelley Parker-Chan

  • Tracy Deonn*
  • Micaiah Johnson*
  • A.K. Larkwood*
  • Everina Maxwell
  • Xiran Jay Zhao

*Second year of eligibility

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

One thought on “2022 Hugo, Astounding, and Lodestar Awards Winners

  • September 5, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    Remember how it was considered horrible and misogynistic when men swept the awards? Ten years since the protests about it gained steam, and men being shut out of these awards is still being called “progress.” How amazing that suddenly, men lost the ability to write award-winning SF?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *