2021 Shirley Jackson Awards Nominees

Shirley Jackson Awards science fiction newsThe 2021 Shirley Jackson Awards nominees have been announced. The awards are presented for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction.




  • “The Women”, Margaret Jameson (F(r)iction Spring 2021)
  • “We, the Girls Who Did Not Make It”, E. A. Petricone (Nightmare 2/21)
  • “The Night Belongs to Us”, Jess Landry (The Mother Wound)
  • House of Crows, Lisa Unger (Amazon Original)
  • “The Nag Bride”, A.C. Wise (The Ghost Sequences)

Short Fiction

Single-Author Collection

Edited Anthology


The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc., also is committed to promoting the legacy of Shirley Jackson and, as part of this mission, will present a Special Award to Ellen Datlow in recognition of the anthology When Things Get Dark: Stories inspired by Shirley Jackson (Titan).

Datlow was a nominee for the Shirley Jackson Award for Edited Anthology for the years 2011, 2013 (with Terri Windling), 2015, 2017, and 2019, and won the award in this category for the years 2007, 2009, and 2014.

Previous recipients of a Special Award from the Shirley Jackson Awards are Joyce Carol Oates as editor of the Library of America edition of Shirley Jackson:  Novels & Stories (Library of America, 2010) and Ruth Franklin in recognition of her biography Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life (Liveright/W.W. Norton, 2016).

Winners will be announced in-person on October 29, 2022 as part of the Boston Book Festival. For more information, see the award website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *