2022 Mike Resnick Memorial Award Finalists

Finalists for the second annual Mike Resnick Memorial Award for Short Fiction have been announced:

  • “It Matches the Color of Your Eye”, Matt Broomfield
  • “Parallels”, Akshayarka Alammyan Deka
  • “What Would You Pay for a Second Chance?”, Chris Kulp
  • “Seedpod”, Ellen Parent
  • “On the Left”, Sandra Sigienski

The award — sponsored by Galaxy’s Edge, Arc Manor, and Dragon Con — is given to the best unpublished science fiction short story by a new author “who has not had any work published (including short stories, novelettes, novellas, and novels in paper, digital or audio form) that has been paid a per-word rate of 6 cents a word or more or received a payment for any single work of fiction totaling more than $50.”

Judges for 2022 are Lois McMaster Bujold, William B. Fawcett, Nancy Kress, Jody Lynn Nye, and Sheree Renée Thomas. One first place winner will receive a trophy, $250, and publication in Galaxy’s Edge at the magazine’s current payment rate; second place gets $100, and third place $50. Finalists will be honored in an award ceremony during Dragon Con, to be held September 1-5, 2022 in Atlanta GA.

Submissions for 2023 will open September 1, 2022. For more information, see the award’s website.

via File 770

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *