2022 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2022 Commonwealth Short Story Prize features titles and authors of genre interest, including:

  • “The Last Diver On Earth”, Sofia Mariah Ma
  • “Losing Count”, Alexandra Manglis
  • “How to Operate the New Eco-Protect Five-in-One Climate Control Apparatus”, Charlie Muhumuza
  • “Slake”, Sarah Walker

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize recognizes the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000-5,000 words) and is open to translated fiction. The overall winner receives £5,000, and regional winners receive £2,500. Translators receive additional prize money. Regional winners will be announced on May 23 and the overall winner on June 21, 2022. The 2023 Prize opens for submissions on September 1, 2022.

The regional judges for 2022 are Fred D’Aguiar (chair), Jahnavi Barua (Asian region), Kevin Jared Hosein (Caribbean region), Jeanine Leane (Pacific region), Stephanos Stephanides (Canada and Europe region), Louise Umutoni-Bower (African region). Nic Low, Heather O’Neill, Mohale Mashigo, Nii Ayikwei Parkes (chair), William Phuan, and Elizabeth Walcott-Hackshaw.

For the complete shortlist, see the official website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *