2022 Aurora Awards Ballot

The 2022 Aurora Awards ballot for works by Canadians has been announced. The Aurora Awards are nominated by members of the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association. The top five nominated works were selected, with additional works included when there was a tie for fifth place.

Best Novel

  • RED X, David Demchuk (Strange Light; Penguin Random House)
  • The Quantum War, Derek Künsken (Solaris)
  • Jade Legacy, Fonda Lee (Orbit US)
  • A Broken Darkness, Premee Mohamed (Solaris)
  • Soulstar, C.L. Polk (Tordotcom)

Best YA Novel

  • The Serpent’s Fury, Kelley Armstrong (Puffin Canada)
  • Walking in Two Worlds, Wab Kinew (Penguin Teen)
  • The Gold Flame of Senica, Elizabeth Whitton (Kettlescon)
  • Star Song, Edward Willett (Shadowpaw)
  • Iron Widow, Xiran Jay Zhao (Penguin Teen)

Best Novelette/Novella

  • “Decay in Five Stages”, Julie E. Czerneda (Derelict)
  • The Annual Migration of Clouds, Premee Mohamed (ECW)
  • These Lifeless Things, Premee Mohamed (Solaris)
  • The Return of the Sorceress, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Subterranean)
  • “Lay Down Your Heart”, Liz Westbrook-Trenholm & Hayden Trenholm (Seasons Between Us: Tales of Identities and Memories)

Best Short Story

  • “The Mathematics of Fairyland”, Phoebe Barton (Lightspeed 3/21)
  • “Clear Waters”, C.J. Cheung (Seasons Between Us: Tales of Identities and Memories)
  • “Second Thoughts”, Eric Choi (Seasons Between Us: Tales of Identities and Memories)
  • “The Only Road”, Susan Forest (Shapers of Worlds: Volume II)
  • “Eighteen Days of Barbareek”, Rati Mehrotra (Uncanny 3-4/21)
  • “Elesa’s Eyes”, Elizabeth Whitton (On Spec #117)

Best Graphic Novel/Comic

  • Shadow Life, Hiromi Goto & Ann Xu (First Second)
  • Crash and Burn, Kate Larking & Finn Lucullan (Astres)
  • It Never Rains, Kari Maaren (itneverrainscomic.com)
  • Critical Role: The Mighty Nein. Origins ⁠— Jester Lavorre, Sam Maggs & Hunter Severn Bonyun (Dark Horse)
  • Goblins, Ellipsis Hana Stephens (www.goblinscomic.com)
  • Thor and Loki: Double Trouble, Mariko Tamaki & Gurihiru (Marvel)

Best Related Work

  • Food of My People, Candas Jane Dorsey & Ursula Pflug, eds. (Exile)
  • Seasons Between Us: Tales of Identities and Memories, Susan Forest & Lucas K. Law, eds. (Laksa)
  • Neo-opsis #32, Karl Johanson, ed
  • Alias Space and Other Stories, Kelly Robson (Subterranean)
  • On Spec $116, #117, and #118, Diane L. Walton, ed.

Best Poem/Song

  • “Cat People Café”, Carolyn Clink (Polar Starlight 10/21)
  • “Them + Us”, James Grotkowski (Polar Borealis 8-9/21)
  • “Crossroads”, Tiffany Morris (Nightmare 11/22)
  • “My Pillow Eats Screams”, Matt Moore (Polar Starlight 12/21)
  • “Widow”, Richard Van Camp (Food of My People)
  • “The Reality of Ghosts”, Yilin Wang (Fantasy 8/21)

Best Artist

  • Samantha Beiko, cover for Seasons Between Us: Tales of Identities and Memories
  • James Beveridge, cover for On Spec #116, and CD cover for Distant Past’s album The Final Stage
  • Swati Chavda, covers for Polar Starlight 3/21, and Polar Borealis 5/21 and 12/21
  • Dan O’Driscoll, cover for On Spec #117, and cover for Star Song
  • Veronica Park, cover for The Annual Migration of Clouds

Best Visual Presentation

  • Angakusajaujuq: The Shaman’s Apprentice
  • Dune
  • Free Guy
  • Ghostbusters: Afterlife
  • Wynonna Earp, Season 4, episodes 7-12

Best Fan Writing and Publications

  • Canadian SF&F book and magazine reviews, R. Graeme Cameron (Amazing Stories)
  • “In Defense of the Humble Cold Plate: How the Peculiar, Distinct, and Different Enriches Fiction”, Krista D. Ball (Reddit)
  • Polar Borealis 2/21, 5/21, 8-9/21, and 12/21, R. Graeme Cameron, ed.
  • Polar Starlight 3/21, 6/21, 10/21, and 12/21, Rhea E. Rose, ed.
  • Young People Read Old SFF, James Davis Nicoll, ed. (youngpeoplereadoldsff.com)

Best Fan Related Work

  • Broadcasts from the Wasteland, Brandon Crilly & Evan May
  • “How I Taught My Dragon: Kindergarten education through genre media”, Jen Desmarais & Keladry Desmarais
  • Sci and Sci-Fi: Connecting the public to science and technology through storytelling, Ron S. Friedman
  • The Feather and the Book: An Improvised Musical Story, Kari Maaren
  • The Worldshapers, Edward Willett

Best Fan Organizational

  • Argo Author Chats, A.E. Prevost, Argo Bookshop
  • ephemera Reading Series, KT Bryski & Jen R. Albert
  • Hal-Con. Hal-Con Sci-Fi Fantasy Association
  • When Words Collide, Randy McCharles (chair)
  • World Fantasy Convention, Diane Lacey (chair)

An online awards ceremony will be held August 13th, 2022, hosted by When Words Collide (www.whenwordscollide.org). For more information, and complete nominees, see the Aurora Awards website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *