2022 Anisfield-Wolf Award Winners

Winners for the 2022 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards were announced. Ishmael Reed is the Lifetime Achievement winner, and Percival Everett is the Fiction winner for The Trees.

The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, established by Edith Anisfield Wolf in 1935 and administered by the Cleveland Foundation, recognizes “books that have made important contributions to our understanding of racism and our appreciation of the rich diversity of human cultures.” The current jury is Rita Dove, Henry Louis Gates Jr. (chair), Joyce Carol Oates, Steven Pinker, and Simon Schama. Winners “traditionally receive $10,000 from the Anisfield-Wolf fund.” Prior winners include Samuel R. Delany, Namwali Serpell, Isabel Allende, and Jesmyn Ward.

For more information, including the complete list of winners and rules for entry, see the official site.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *