2022 Jim Baen Memorial Award Winner

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyBaen Books has announced the results of the 2022 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award:

  • Grand Prize: “Man on the Moon”, Elaine Midcoh
  • First Runner-up: “A New Life”, Pierre-Alexandre Sicart
  • Second Runner-up: “The Rocketship of Her Dreams”,  Larry Lang
  • Honorable Mention: “Blowout”, Wole Talabi
  • Honorable Mention: “The Icy Wasteland at Her Feet”, Deborah L. Davitt

The Grand Prize winner will be featured on the Baen website. The author will be given a trophy and paid professional rates. This was the first year with more than ten finalists, and two honorable mentions in addition to the winners. Judges were Les Johnson and the editors of Baen Books.

Grand Prize, second, and third place winners each receive free admission to the 2022 International Space Development Conference, to be held May 27-29, 2022 in Arlington VA, and a year’s membership in the National Space Society, as well as an assortment of Baen Books and National Space Society merchandise. The 2020 and 2021 award winners, M.T. Reiten and G. Scott Huggins “have been invited to attend as well, given the Covid-19 pandemic meant they could not be honored in person previously.”

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *