Walter Scott Prize 2022 Longlist

The 2022 Walter Scott Prize 10-title longlist has been announced. The prize “celebrates outstanding historical novels published in the UK, Ireland and the Commonwealth.” Titles and authors of genre interest include:

  • Blue Postcards, Douglas Bruton (Fairlight Books)
  • Snow Country, Sebastian Faulks (Hutchinson Heinemann)
  • The Ballad of Lord Edward and Citizen Small, Neil Jordan (Lilliput Press)
  • News of the Dead, James Robertson (Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Magician, Colm Tóibín (Viking)
  • Still Life, Sarah Winman (Fourth Estate)

The winning title will receive £25,000. The shortlist will be announced in April, and the winner at the Borders Book Festival in Melrose, Scotland in mid-June.

For more information about the prize, and the full longlist, see the announcement here.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *