Ayinde Wins Future Worlds Prize

The Future Worlds Prize for Fantasy and Science Fiction Writers of Colour, for “unpublished writers of colour based in the UK,” announced the winner of the 2021 prize at an event held at the London Library on February 16, 2022.

  • WINNER: A Shadow in Chains, MH Ayinde
  • RUNNER UP: Frankincense, Salma Ibrahim
  • The Sawling, Jordan Collins
  • In the City of Villages, Franchesca Liauw
  • Margot, Who Is Beautiful Now, Bea Pantoja
  • The Warden, Madeehah Reza
  • Contracts Made in Gold, Aqeelah Seedat
  • A Box Full of Stories, Fatima Taqvi

The judges were Nii Ayikwei Parkes, Lloyd Bradley, Valerie Brandes, Shobna Gulati, Zahra Hankir, and Tasha Suri. The winner receives £4,000, the runner-up £2,000, and up to six shortlisted authors each receive £800. All also receive mentoring from one of the prize’s publishing partners. The prize is funded by author Ben Aaronovitch and actor Adjoa Andoh. The 2020 prize was won by Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson for The Principle of Moments, a space-based adventure story. Jikiemi-Pearson has since secured a publishing deal with Gollancz, and her debut novel will be released this year. The Future Worlds Prize was formerly the Gollancz and Rivers of London BAME SFF Award.

For more information, see the prize’s website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *