2022 Dell Award Winners

“Hellish Takeout” by Jack Hawkins is the winner of the 2022 Dell Magazines Award for Undergraduate Excellence in Science Fiction and Fantasy Writing. The award is “given annually to the best short-story written in the science fiction or fantasy genres by a full-time undergraduate college student,” and is accompanied by a $500 cash prize, publication in Asimov’s, and an invitation to ICFA (International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts).

The complete list of honors is:

  • Winner: “Hellish Takeout”, Jack Hawkins
  • First Runner-up: “Walk On”, Juliette Morazain
  • Second Runner-up: “Teatro Anatomico”, Getty Hesse
  • Third Runner-up: “From A Smile To A Smirk”, Jazmin Collins
  • Honorable Mention: “Been”, Jake Mouallem
  • Honorable Mention: “Our Own Image”, Bree (Taylor) Meiklejohn

The Dell Magazines Award, formerly the Isaac Asimov Award for Undergraduate Excellence in Science Fiction and Fantasy Writing, was established in 1993 by Asimov’s and the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts. The awards are co-sponsored by Asimov’s magazine and the IAFA, and supported by the Graduate Program in Creative Writing, low-residency MFA, and MA, Western Colorado University. For more information, visit the Dell Award website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *