Nye Named Writers of the Future Coordinating Judge

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyGalaxy Press announced Jody Lynn Nye as the new coordinating judge for the L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Contest. The appointment follows the recent death of David Farland (pen name for Dave Wolverton), who was the previous coordinating judge. According to a press release, “Jody has been a Contest judge since 2016 and has a long history of helping aspiring writers.” Nye said,

I consider this to be the best short fiction contest anywhere. Hubbard’s vision of promoting and nurturing young writers has given thousands of talented people a forum in which their work can be seen and appreciated. I will continue in the tradition of the previous Coordinating Judge, David Farland. He was a mentor with a genuine interest in helping budding writers to flourish. I look forward to honoring his memory and the Contest that he loved.

The 2020 and 2021 winners were announced in October. All winners received trophies, and Golden Award winners received $5,000 each. All the winning stories and artwork are published in L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 37.

For more information, see the Writers of the Future website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *