2019 and 2020 Sidewise Awards Winners

The winners for the 2019 and 2020 Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were announced December 18, 2021 at Discon III in Washington DC.

2020 Long Form

  • WINNER: The Doors of Eden, Adrian Tchaikovsky (Orbit US/Tor UK)
  • The Good German, Dennis Bock (Patrick Crean Editions)
  • The Cold Last Swim, Junior Burke (Gibson House)
  • The Relentless Moon, Mary Robinette Kowal (Tor)
  • The Day Lincoln Lost, Charles Rosenberg (Hanover Square)

2020 Short Form

  • WINNER: “Moonshot”, Matthew Kresal (Alternate Australias)
  • “1827: Napoleon in Australia”, Andrew J. Harvey (Alternate Australias)
  • “Wheels of Echoes”, Sean McMullen (Analog, 1/20)

2019 Long Form

  • WINNER: Future of Another Timeline, Annalee Newitz (Tor)
  • Famous Men Who Never Lived, K Chess (Tin House)
  • Walking Through Dreams, Jared Kavanagh (Sea Lion)
  • The Fall of Rorke’s Drift, John Laband (Greenhill)

2019 Short Form

  • WINNER: “Christmas Truce”, Harry Turtledove (Asimov’s 11/19)
  • “Any Way the Wind Blows”, Seanan McGuire (Tor.com 6/19)
  • “Drang Nach Osten”, Christopher G. Nuttall (Trouble in the Wind)
  • “The Kaiserin of the Seas”, Christopher G. Nuttall (To Slip the Surly Bonds)
  • “The Blue and the Red: Palmerston’s Ironclads”, William Stroock (Those in Peril)

The Sidewise Awards have been presented since 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate historical fiction. The 2019 award was delayed to this year due to the pandemic. For more, see the Sidewise Awards website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *