2021 World Fantasy Award Winners

The World Fantasy Awards winners for works published in 2020 were announced during the World Fantasy Convention 2021, held November 4-7, 2021 at the Hotel Bonaventure in Montreal, Quebec.

The Life Achievement Awards, presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service to the fantasy field, went to Megan Lindholm and Howard Waldrop.

The World Fantasy Awards winners are:

Best Novel

Best Novella

  • WINNER: Riot Baby, Tochi Onyebuchi (Tordotcom)

Best Short Fiction

  • WINNER: 
”Glass Bottle Dancer”, Celeste Rita Baker (Lightspeed 4/20)
  • “The Women Who Sing for Sklep”, Kay Chronister (Thin Places)
  • “The Nine Scents of Sorrow”, Jordan Taylor (Uncanny 7-8/20)
  • “My Country Is a Ghost”, Eugenia Triantafyllou (Uncanny 1-2/20)
  • “Open House on Haunted Hill”, John Wiswell (Diabolical Plots 6/15/20)

Best Anthology

Best Collection

Best Artist

  • WINNER: Rovina Cai
  • Jeffrey Alan Love
  • Reiko Murakami
  • Daniele Serra
  • Charles Vess

Special Award – Professional

  • WINNER: C.C. Finlay, for F&SF editing

Special Award – Non-Professional

This year’s judges are Tobias Buckell, Siobhan Carroll, Cecilia Dart-Thornton, Brian Evenson, and Patrick Swenson. For more information, see the WFC website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

One thought on “2021 World Fantasy Award Winners

  • November 8, 2021 at 4:39 am

    Would be much appreciated if you could name the translator(s?) in these announcements! I know Polly Barton did Where the Wild Ladies Are, but aside from Beowulf, I have no idea if any of these other books are even translations or not…


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *