Xingyun Awards Winners

The twelfth annual Xingyun awards for Chinese science fiction were presented by the World Chinese Science Fiction Association on October 27, 2019 in Chongqing, China.

Best Novel

  • WINNER: Across the Rings of Saturn, Xie Yunning
  • Chongqing Labyrinths: Strange Events in the Mist, Earl E
  • Seven States of Galaxy Saga: The Phantom of Haojing, Bao Shu & A Que
  • The End of the Silver Age, Qi Yue
  • The Little Mushroom Man, Yishisi Zhou

Best Novella

  • WINNER: “The Persons who are Trapped in Time”, Cheng Jingbo
  • “A Mountain of Dust”, Wanxiang Fengnian
  • “The Curse of Einstein”, Hui Hu
  • “The Colorless Green”, Lu Qiucha
  • “The Years of Our Invisibility Shield”, Teng Ye

Best Short Story

  • WINNER: “Preface to the Reprint Edition of ‘Overture 2181’”, Gu Shi
  • “My Lover is not Human”, Chen Qian
  • “The New Year Gifts”, Han Song
  • “Operation Spring Dawn”, Mo Xiong
  • “Synecdoche, Chongqing”, Duan Ziqi

Best Translated Fiction

  • WINNER: Alternate Worlds: The Illustrated History of Science Fiction, James Gunn, translated Jiang Qian
  • The Search for Philip K.Dick, Anne R. Dick, translated by Jin Xueni
  • A Scanner Darkly, Philip K. Dick, translated by Yu Juanjuan
  • Astounding: John W.Campbell, Isaac Asimov, Robert A.Heinlein, L.Ron Hubbard, and the Golden Age of Science Fiction,  Alec Nevala-Lee, translated by Sun Yanan
  • Steel Beach, John Varley, translated by Qiu Chunhui

Best Non-Fiction

  • WINNER: No Award
  • “Marxism and Science Fiction”, Fu Changyi
  • “Science Fiction between 1949-1966: The Speed of China, from Fantasy to Reality”, Xiao Han
  • “Science Fiction and High Concept Films”, Zheng Jun
  • “What do ‘The Wandering Earth’ and ‘The Man from Earth’ have in common other than Earth, or What on Earth is Science Fiction?”, Xi Xia
  • “The Settings and the Network of Settings in Science Fiction Writing”, Liu Yang

Best Review

  • WINNER: “Anyone can Imagine an Airplane, but Only a Science Fiction Writer Can Imagine the Flight Mileage Cards: Review of ‘Store of the Worlds’”, Jiang Zhenyu
  • “The Force of Science Fiction: Preface to the Chinese Edition of ‘Alternate Worlds: The Illustrated History of Science Fiction’”, Liu Cixin
  • “‘The Snow of Jinyang’: Silkpunk and Retro-futurism”, Lyu Guangzhao
  • “The Engineer’s Mind in Science Fiction Writing: Review of ‘The Möbius Space’”, Sanfeng
  • “In the Land of Wandering Ghosts: Rereading Han Song’s ‘The Hospital’”, Zhong Tianyi

Best New Writer

  • WINNER: Duan Ziqi
  • Bai Bi
  • Fenxing Chengzi
  • Zhao Lei
  • Su Wanwen

Awards for Special Contribution were given to Frank Gwo and Hao Jingfang.

[Via File 770]

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.


One thought on “Xingyun Awards Winners

  • October 25, 2021 at 3:06 pm

    Why do they have Astounding: John W.Campbell, Isaac Asimov, Robert A.Heinlein, L.Ron Hubbard, and the Golden Age of Science Fiction, Alec Nevala-Lee, translated by Sun Yanan under fiction?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *