Williams Wins Forry Award

The Los Angeles Science Fantasy Society (LASFS) has selected composer John Williams as this year’s recipient of the Forry Award for lifetime achievement in the SF field. Williams created the scores for SF and fantasy films including the Star Wars and Indiana Jones franchises, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Superman, and installments of the Jurassic Park and Harry Potter film series.

The award, named for Forrest J Ackerman and given annually since 1966, was presented at the October 9, 2021 meeting of the LASFS. Their next convention, LOSCON 47, will be held November 26-28, 2021 at the Marriott Los Angeles Airport Hotel.

[via File 770]

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *