Campbell Wins Sturgeon

Results for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short science fiction of 2020 have been announced by the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction. The award is traditionally presented during the annual Campbell Conference Awards, but was instead announced online.

  • WINNER: “An Important Failure”, Rebecca Campbell (Clarkesworld 8/20)
  • Second place: “The Pill”, Meg Elison (Big Girl)
  • Third place: “Yellow and the Perception of Reality”, Maureen McHugh ( 7/20)

Other finalists were:

  • “If You Take My Meaning”, Charlie Jane Anders ( 2/20)
  • “The Translator, at Low Tide”, Vajra Chandrasekera (Clarkesworld 5/20)
  • “The Mermaid Astronaut”, Yoon Ha Lee (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 2/20)
  • “50 Things Every AI Working With Humans Should Know”, Ken Liu (Uncanny 11/20)
  • “A Mastery of German”, Marian Denise Moore (Dominion)
  • “Ife-Iyoku, the Tale of Imadeyunuagbon”, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Dominion)
  • “A Guide for Working Breeds”, Vina Jie-Min Prasad ( 3/20)
  • “AirBody”, Sameem Siddiqui (Clarkesworld 4/20)

This year’s jurors were Elizabeth Bear, Kij Johnson, Sarah Pinsker, Noel Sturgeon, and Taryne Taylor. The organizers say, “Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the in-person presentation of the award will be postponed until a date and location to be announced.”

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *