2021 Aurora Awards Winners

The 2021 Aurora Awards winners were announced October 16, 2021 during a livestreamed ceremony organized by Ottawa’s Can*Con convention.

Best Novel

  • WINNER: Mexican Gothic, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Del Rey)
  • A Stitch in Time, Kelley Armstrong (KLA Fricke)
  • A Connecticut Gumshoe in King Arthur’s Court, Randy McCharles (Tyche)
  • Beneath the Rising, Premee Mohamed (Solaris)
  • The Oppenheimer Alternative, Robert J. Sawyer (Red Deer)

Best YA Novel

  • WINNER: Flights of Marigold, Susan Forest (Laksa)
  • The Gryphon’s Lair, Kelley Armstrong (Puffin Canada)
  • Return to Atlantis, J.M. Dover (Evil Alter Ego)*
  • Hollow, Rhonda Parrish (Tyche)
  • Wall of Wishes, Suzy Vadori (Old Vines)

Best Novelette/Novella

  • WINNER: “Tool Use by the Humans of Danzhai County”, Derek Künsken (Asimov’s 7-8/20)
  • “The Immolation of Kev Magee”, L.X. Beckett (Clarkesworld 8/20)
  • “An Important Failure”, Rebecca Campbell (Clarkesworld 8/20)
  • “How Quini the Squid Misplaced His Klobučar”, Rich Larson (Tor.com 1/15/20)
  • “Go Fish”, Ian Rogers (Tor.com 4/15/20)
  • “To Sail the Black”, A.C. Wise (Clarkesworld 11/20)

Best Short Story

  • WINNER: “All Cats Go to Valhalla”, Chadwick Ginther (Swashbuckling Cats)
  • “The Bone-Stag Walks”, KT Bryski (Lightspeed 8/20)
  • “Night Folk”, Barb Galler-Smith (Galaxy’s Edge 11/20)
  • “Breathe”, Calvin D. Jim (Prairie Gothic)
  • “So You Want to Be a Honeypot”, Kelly Robson (Uncanny 3-4/20)
  • “Grass Gods”, Elizabeth Whitton (Prairie Gothic)

Best Graphic Novel/Comic

  • Gothic Tales of Haunted Futures, S.M. Beiko, ed. (Renegade Arts)
  • Krampus is My Boyfriend!, S.M. Beiko (https://www.smbeiko.com/)
  • Crash and Burn, Kate Larking & Finn Lucullan (Astres)
  • Goblins, Ellipsis Hana Stephens (https://www.goblinscomic.org/)
  • Northwest Resistance, Katherena Vermette, illustrated by Scott B. Henderson (Highwater)

Best Related Work

  • WINNER: On Spec, Diane L. Walton, ed.
  • PodCastle, Jen R. Albert & Cherae Clark, eds., host Setsu Uzumé & producer Peter Adrian Behravesh
  • Augur #3.1 and 3.2, Kerry C. Byrne, Alexander De Pompa & Lawrence Stewen, eds.
  • Prairie Gothic, Stacey Kondla, ed. (Prairie Soul)
  • Disfigured: On Fairy Tales, Disability, and Making Space, Amanda Leduc (Coach House)
  • Swashbuckling Cats: Nine Lives on the Seven Seas, Rhonda Parrish, ed. (Tyche)

Best Poem/Song

  • WINNER: “Nidhog”, Jo Walton (The Book of Dragons)
  • “Masquerade”, Colleen Anderson (On Spec #115)
  • “The Death of the Gods”, Leah Bobet (Uncanny 1-2/20)
  • “he scores”, Beth Cato & Rhonda Parrish (Star*Line Spring ’20)
  • “Back Story”, David Clink (Strange Horizons 9/20)
  • “Electra”, Y.M. Pang (Arsenika Winter ’20)
  • “Arachnoid Cyst”, Dominik Parisien (This 3-4/20)
  • “Hamilton Harbour”, Lynne Sargent (A Refuge of Tales)

Best Artist

  • WINNER: Samantha M. Beiko, cover for Flights of the Marigold
  • Lorna Antoniazzi, covers for Augur #3.1 and 3.2
  • Swati Chavda, art, maps, and covers for multiple publications
  • Dan O’Driscoll, cover for Corona Burning
  • Maia Kondla-Wolf, cover for Prairie Gothic

Best Visual Presentation

  • WINNER: The Umbrella Academy
  • Don’t Text Back
  • Murdoch Mysteries, Season 13, Episodes 10-18
  • Trickster, Episodes 1-6
  • Wynonna Earp, Season 4, Episodes 1-6

Best Fan Writing and Publications

  • WINNER: Polar Borealis #13-16, R. Graeme Cameron, ed.
  • BCSFAzine #538-547, R. Graeme Cameron, ed.
  • Clubhouse, R. Graeme Cameron (Amazing Stories)
  • Travelling TARDIS, Jennifer Desmarais (JenEric Designs)
  • Young People Read Old SFF, James Davis Nicoll, ed.
  • Random Musings, Robert J. Sawyer (BCSFAzine #539-547)

Best Fan Related Work

  • WINNER: When Words Collide, Randy McCharles, chair
  • ephemera reading series, KT Bryski & Jen R. Albert
  • AugurCon, Kerry C. Byrne & Terese Mason Pierre
  • 2020 Aurora Awards Ceremony, Mark Leslie Lefebvre & Liz Anderson
  • Speculating Canada, Derek Newman-Stille

The ceremonies also included the induction of authors Monica Hughes and Jean-Louis Trudel, and fan and Godzilla expert Stan G Hyde, into the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association’s (CSFFA) Hall of Fame.

For more information, see the Aurora Awards website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *