Ekpeki Wins 2020 Otherwise Award

“Ife-Iyoku, the Tale of Imadeyunuagbon” by Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Dominion) won the 2020 Otherwise Award (formerly the James Tiptree, Jr. Award), given annually to works of science fiction or fantasy that explore and expand gender roles. Ekpeki will receive $1,000, original artwork, and chocolate.

The award jury released an “honor list” recognizing other noteworthy works:

  • City of a Thousand Feelings, Anya Johanna DeNiro (Aqueduct)
  • “Helicopter Story”, Isabel Fall (Clarkesworld 1/20)
  • “Custom Options Available”, Amy Griswold (Fireside 1/20)
  • Depart, Depart, Sim Kern (Stelliform)
  • The Four Profound Weaves, R.B. Lemberg (Tachyon)
  • The Seep, Chana Porter (Soho)
  • “The Moon Room”, Maria Romasco Moore (Kaleidotrope Spring ’20)
  • The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea, Maggie Tokuda-Hall (Candlewick)

The 2020 jurors included Liz Henry (chair), Chesya Burke, M.L. Clarke, Annalee Newitz, and Tochi Onyebuchi.

Ekpeki will be honored Saturday October 30 at 3pm EST in a virtual event hosted by A Room of One’s Own Bookstore. “Details on how to join us will be posted at the beginning of October.” For more information, see the Otherwise Award website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *