2021 British Fantasy Awards Winners

The British Fantasy Society has announced the winners for the 2021 British Fantasy Awards:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

Best Novella

  • WINNER: Ring Shout, P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom)

Best Short Story

Best Collection

Best Anthology

Best Independent Press

  • WINNER: Luna
  • Black Shuck
  • Flame Tree
  • Unsung Stories

Best Non-Fiction

Best Magazine / Periodical

  • WINNER: Strange Horizons
  • Black Static
  • The Dark
  • Fiyah
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror
  • Shoreline of Infinity

Best Artist

  • WINNER: Daniele Serra
  • Warwick Fraser-Coombe
  • David Rix
  • Vincent Sammy

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

Best Audio

Best Film / Television Production

  • WINNER: The Boys: “What I Know”
  • Birds of Prey
  • The Haunting of Bly Manor: “The Romance of Certain Old Clothes”
  • The Invisible Man
  • The Lighthouse
  • Saint Maud

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J Bounds Award)

  • WINNER: Kathleen Jennings
  • Tiffani Angus
  • Dan Coxon
  • Sean Hogan
  • Simon Jimenez
  • Rym Kechacha

Karl Edward Wagner Award

  • Alasdair Stuart

The awards were presented September 26, 2021 during FantasyCon at Jury’s Inn in Birmingham, England. Winners were chosen by jury, except for the special award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award), chosen by the BFS committee. The Legends of FantasyCon award (presented by the con, rather than the British Fantasy Society) went to Katherine Fowler, British Fantasy Awards administrator.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *