2020 This Is Horror Awards Winners

Winners Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasyfor the This Is Horror Awards 2020 have been announced:

Novel of the Year

  • WINNER: The Only Good Indians, Stephen Graham Jones (Saga)
  • Runner-up: Mexican Gothic, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Del Rey)
  • The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires, Grady Hendrix (Quirk)
  • The Invention of Sound, Chuck Palahniuk (Grand Central)
  • The Sun Down Motel, Simone St. James (Berkley)

Novella of the Year

  • WINNER: Crossroads, Laurel Hightower (Off Limits)
  • Runner-up: Ring Shout, P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom)
  • We Need to Do Something, Max Booth III (Perpetual Motion Machine)
  • True Crime, Samantha Kolesnik (Grindhouse)
  • The Worm and His Kings, Hailey Piper (Off Limits)

Short Story Collection of the Year

  • WINNER: Children of the Fang and Other Genealogies, John Langan (Word Horde)
  • Runner-up: Velocities, Kathe Koja (Meerkat)
  • Thin Places, Kay Chronister (Undertow)
  • Wyrd and Other Derelictions, Adam Nevill (Ritual)
  • The Immeasurable Corpse of Nature, Christopher Slatsky (Grimscribe)

Anthology of the Year

  • WINNER: Miscreations: Gods, Monstrosities & Other Horrors, Doug Murano & Michael Bailey, ed. (Written Backwards)
  • Runner-up: Worst Laid Plans: An Anthology of Vacation Horror, Samantha Kolesnik, ed. (Grindhouse)
  • Final Cuts: New Tales of Hollywood Horror and Other Spectacles, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Anchor)
  • Lullabies for Suffering: Tales of Addiction Horror, Mark Matthews, ed. (Wicked Run)
  • Dominion: An Anthology of Speculative Fiction from Africa and the African Diaspora, Zelda Knight & Ekpeki Oghenechovwe Donald, eds. (Aurelia Leo)

Fiction Magazine of the Year

  • WINNER: Nightmare
  • Runner-up: The Dark
  • Lightspeed
  • Uncanny
  • Unnerving

Publisher of the Year

  • WINNER: Undertow
  • Runner-up: Death’s Head
  • Del Rey
  • Silver Shamrock
  • Valancourt

Fiction Podcast of the Year

  • WINNER: The Other Stories
  • Runner-up: NIGHTLIGHT
  • Chilling Tales for Dark Nights
  • Crypto-Z
  • Thirteen

Nonfiction Podcast of the Year

  • WINNER: Ink Heist
  • Runner-up: Post Mortem with Mick Garris
  • Afro Horror
  • Ghoulish
  • TheNecronomi.com

Cover Art of the Year

  • WINNER: Todd Keisling for Arterial Bloom, Mercedes M. Yardley, ed. (Crystal Lake)
  • Runner-up: Mike Davis for grotesquerie, Richard Gavin (Undertow)
  • Stephen Mackey for Thin Places, Kay Chronister (Undertow)
  • Mikio Murakami for The Best of Both Worlds, S.P. Miskowski (Trepidatio)
  • Matthew Revert for Antioch, Jessica Leonard (Perpetual Motion Machine)

Winners were selected by open vote based on the nominees list. For more information, see the official announcement.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *