Shirley Jackson Awards Winners

Shirley Jackson Awards science fiction newsThe Shirley Jackson Awards winners for works in 2020 have been announced. The awards are presented for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction.


WINNER: The Only Good Indians, Stephen Graham Jones (Saga)


WINNER: Night of the Mannequins, Stephen Graham Jones (Tordotcom)


WINNER: The Attic Tragedy, J. Ashley-Smith (Meerkat)

Short Fiction

WINNER: “Not the Man I Married”, R.A. Busby (Black Petals Autumn 2020)

  • “Holes”, R.A. Busby (Graveyard Smash)
  • Graceful Burdens, Roxane Gay (Amazon Original Stories)
  • “The Memory Game”, Franki Haber (The Gravity of the Thing Spring ’20)
  • “Isn’t Your Daughter Such a Doll”, Tobi Ogundiran (Shoreline of Infinity #18)
  • “Room and Board Included, Demonology Extra”, Eden Royce (Eyedolon 6/20)

Single-Author Collection

WINNER: Velocities, Kathe Koja (Meerkat)

Edited Anthology

WINNER: Black Cranes: Tales of Unquiet Women, Lee Murray & Geneve Flynn, eds. (Omnium Gatherum)

Winners were announced during a pre-recorded ceremony at Readercon 31 on August 15, 2021. For more information, see the award website.

Click here to view the ceremony. 

The 2020 ceremony has closed captions available as well as subtitles in Spanish (Latin American) and Japanese.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *