2021 Odyssey Scholarship Recipients

The Odyssey Writing Workshop has announced recipients of several of its scholarships available for students attending in 2021.

Mars Hawthorne and Erina Lee won the Miskatonic Scholarship, funded by George R.R. Martin and covering full tuition and housing for a promising new writer of Lovecraftian cosmic horror.

Catherine Yu won the Walter & Kattie Metcalf Singing Spider Scholarship, funded by Pam Metcalf Harrington, covering full tuition for “a fantasy novelist who shows great skill and promise.”

Kiran Kaur Saini won the Fresh Voices scholarship, funded anonymously by an Odyssey graduate, and providing $2,000 toward tuition. The scholarship “seeks to offer opportunities for underrepresented racial and ethnic minority writers to learn at Odyssey and enrich the fantasy, science fiction, and horror genres as a result.”

Lane Waldman won the Enchanted Bond Scholarship, funded anonymously by an Odyssey supporter to provide $1,000 toward tuition for “an outstanding fantasy writer.”

Malcolm Carvalho won the Quantum Entanglement Scholarship, funded anonymously by an Odyssey graduate to provide $1,000 toward tuition for “an outstanding writer of science fiction.”

The Odyssey Workshop was held online June 7 – July 16, 2021. Guest lecturers included Scott H. Andrews, Gregory Ashe, David Brin, P. Djèlí Clark, David Farland, Melissa Scott, Meagan Spooner, and Sheree Renée Thomas.

For more information, including scholarship deadlines and further financial opportunities, see the workshop website or email Jeanne Cavelos.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *