2021 Sturgeon Award Finalists

The finalists for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short science fiction story have been announced by the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction. The award is normally presented during the annual Campbell Conference Awards, but will instead be announced online later this summer.

  • “If You Take My Meaning”, Charlie Jane Anders (Tor.com 2/20)
  • “An Important Failure”, Rebecca Campbell (Clarkesworld 8/20)
  • “The Translator, at Low Tide”, Vajra Chandrasekera (Clarkesworld 5/20)
  • “The Pill”, Meg Elison (Big Girl)
  • “The Mermaid Astronaut”, Yoon Ha Lee (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 2/20)
  • “50 Things Every AI Working With Humans Should Know”, Ken Liu (Uncanny 11/20)
  • “Yellow and the Perception of Reality”, Maureen McHugh (Tor.com 7/20)
  • “A Mastery of German”, Marian Denise Moore (Dominion)
  • “Ife-Iyoku, the Tale of Imadeyunuagbon”, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Dominion)
  • “A Guide for Working Breeds”, Vina Jie-Min Prasad (Tor.com 3/20)
  • “AirBody”, Sameem Siddiqui (Clarkesworld 4/20)

The Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award recognizes the best science fiction short story of each year. Established in 1987 by James Gunn and the heirs of Theodore Sturgeon, including his partner Jayne Engelhart Tannehill and Sturgeon’s children, it is “a memorial to one of the great short-story writers in a field distinguished by its short fiction.”

For more information, see the Gunn Center’s website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *