2021 Scribe Award Winners

The International Association of Media Tie-in Writers (IAMTW) announced the winners for the 2021 Scribe Awards, honoring excellence in licensed tie-in writing. Winners and nominees of genre interest follow.

Original Novel — Speculative

  • WINNER: Star Trek Discovery: Die Standing, John Jackson Miller (Gallery)
  • Marvel’s Avengers: The Extinction Key, Greg Keyes (Titan)
  • Firefly: The Ghost Machine, James Lovegrove (Titan)
  • Star Trek: More Beautiful Than Death, David Mack (Gallery)
  • Star Trek: Agents of Influence, Dayton Ward (Gallery)

Adapted Novel — General & Speculative

  • WINNER: Day Zero, James Swallow & Josh Reynolds (Aconyte)
  • The Rise of Skywalker, Rae Carson (Del Rey)
  • Mindgame, David J. Howe (Telos)

Graphic Novel

  • WINNER: Blade Runner, Michael Green & Mike Johnson (Titan)
  • Two Doctors, Jody Houser (Titan)
  • Darth Vader Volume 1: Dark Heart of the Sith, Greg Pak (Marvel)
  • Horizon Zero Dawn, Anne Toole (Titan)
  • Life is Strange, Emma Vieceli (Titan)

Audio Drama

  • WINNER (tie): Out of Time, Matt Fitton (Big Finish)
  • WINNER (tie): Tropical Beach Sounds and Other Relaxing Seascapes #4, Tim Foley (Big Finish)
  • The Enemy of My Enemy, Tracey Ann Baines (Big Finish)
  • Torchwood: Save Our Souls, Scott Handcock (Big Finish)
  • He Kills Me, He Kills Me Not, Carrie Thompson (Big Finish)

Young Adult / Middle Grade

  • WINNER: The Rise of Skywalker, Michael Kogge (Disney Lucasfilm)
  • The Unexplainable Disappearance of Mars Patel, Sheela Chari (Walker)
  • The Rise of the Archer-Illager, Matt Forbeck (Del Rey)
  • Liberty & Justice for All, Carrie Harris (Aconyte)

Short Story

  • WINNER (tie): Stone by Stone, Christie Golden (Blizzard)
  • WINNER (tie): “Useful Parasites”, M.K. Hutchins (Tales from the Crucible)
  • “A View from Olympus”, Gareth Hanrahan (No Good Men)
  • “Extermination Examination”, Robbie MacNiven (Tales from the Crucible)
  • “Scritch, Scratch”, Monica Valentinelli (Haunting Shadows)

Max Allan Collins is the 2021 Grandmaster, and executive vice president D.J. Stevenson received the first IAMTW Service Award.

For more information, see the IAMTW website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *