2021 Prometheus Awards Winners

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS) has announced the winner for the Prometheus Award in the Best Novel category, honoring pro-freedom works published in 2020.

They also announced the winner of the Hall of Fame Award for Best Classic Fiction, “given in recognition of a classic work of science fiction or fantasy with libertarian themes.”

  • WINNER: “Lipidleggin'”, F. Paul Wilson (Asimov’s 5-6/78)
  • The Winter of the World, Poul Anderson (Doubleday)
  • “As Easy as A.B.C.”, Rudyard Kipling (London 3-4/1912)
  • “The Trees”, Rush (Hemispheres)
  • Emphyrio, Jack Vance (Doubleday)

All members of the LFS were eligible to vote. Originally scheduled to be presented during DisCon III, the 79th World Science Fiction Convention, the 41st annual Prometheus Awards are now scheduled to be presented online in late August, “with an awards ceremony and panel discussion, with Reason magazine as the media sponsor of the post-ceremony panel. Reason editor Katherine Mangu-Ward and Reason book editor Jesse Walker will join LFS President William H. Stoddard and others (to be announced) to discuss ‘SF, Liberty, Alternative Publishing Trends and the Prometheus Awards.'”

For more information, see the LFS website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *