2021 Heinlein Scholarship Recipients

Winners of the Heinlein Society’s annual undergraduate scholarships for the 2020-2021 academic year were announced July 7, 2021. This year’s winners are Mandisa Keswa, Alexandra Ouimet, and LeAnn Rhodes. The scholarship awards $2,500 to each recipient. Winners were selected from a record 383 applications, including 23 international submissions.

Keswa received the Virginia Heinlein Memorial Scholarship, which is dedicated to female candidates majoring in engineering, math, or science. Ouimet received the Dr. Jerry Pournelle Memorial Scholarship, and Rhodes received the Dr. Yoji Kondo Memorial Scholarship.

Other top ten finalists were:

  • Alexis Kaiser
  • Audrey Lacey
  • Carver Freeburg
  • Casey Barbier
  • Jane Hancock
  • Josephine Maier
  • Nadège Oger

The scholarship contest is open to residents of any country who are enrolled as full-time students at an accredited four-year university and majoring in math, engineering, the physical sciences, or science fiction as literature. Applicants must submit a 500-1,000 word essay on one of the provided topics.

For guidelines and more information, visit The Heinlein Society website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *