2021 SFRA Awards

The Science Fiction Research Association (SFRA) has announced the 2021 winners of its annual research awards.

The SFRA Award for Lifetime Contributions to SF scholarship

  • Veronica Hollinger

The SFRA Innovative Research Award

  • WINNER: Jesse Cohn
  • Honorable Mention: Adriana Knouf

Thomas D. Clareson Award for Distinguished Service

  • Grace Dillon

Mary Kay Bray Award (tie)

  • Virginia L. Conn
  • Andy Duncan

SFRA Book Award

  • Final Frontiers: Science Fiction and Techno-Science in Non-Aligned India, Upamanyu Pablo Mukerjee (Liverpool University Press)

Speculative Fictions and Cultures of Science Book Award

  • Wild Blue Media: Thinking Through Seawater, Melody Jue (Duke University Press)

Support a New Scholar Award

  • Guangzhao Lyu

The awards, selected by a committee of SFRA members, are given in recognition of “members of the SF community who exhibit outstanding scholarship, pioneering viewpoints in the science fiction discourse, and lifetime contributions to SF research.” Winners were announced in an award ceremony during the 2021 SFRA Conference, held online June 18-21, 2021

For more information, see the SFRA website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *