2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters Literature Awards

Winners of the 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters Literature Awards have been announced, including authors of genre interest.

Laura van den Berg won the $200,000 Mildred & Harold Strauss Livings Award, given “in recognition of literary excellence and to provide freedom to devote time exclusively to writing.”

Chang-rae Lee won the $25,000 Award of Merit for the Novel, given “to an outstanding writer representing excellence in the craft of the novel.”

Yiyun Li and Adam Rapp each received $10,000 for the Arts and Letters Awards in Literature “honoring exceptional accomplishment in any genre.”

Kate DiCamillo won the $10,000 E.B. White Award given “to a writer for achievement in children’s literature.”

Winners will be honored in an online ceremony on May 19, 2021. The judges for this year were Edwidge Danticat, Louise Glück, John Guare, Amy Hempel (chair), Edward Hirsch, and Joy Williams. Judges for the E.B. White Award were Michael Chabon, Louise Erdrich, and Ann Patchett.

For more information, including a complete list of winners, see the AAAL website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *