Ignyte Awards Winners

The winners of the inaugural Ignyte Awards, which “seek to celebrate the vibrancy and diversity of the current and future landscapes of science fiction, fantasy, and horror by recognizing incredible feats in storytelling and outstanding efforts toward inclusivity of the genre,” were announced during FIYAHCON on October 17, 2020.

Best Novel — Adult

Best Novel — YA

Best in MG

Best Novella

Best Novelette

  • WINNER: “Emergency Skin”, N.K. Jemisin (Forward)
  • “While Dragons Claim the Sky”, Jen Brown (Fiyah Spring ’19)
  • “Omphalos”, Ted Chiang (Exhalation)
  • “Circus Girl, The Hunter, and Mirror Boy”, JY Neon Yang (Tor.com 1/30/19)
  • “The Archronology of Love”, Caroline Yoachim (Lightspeed 4/19)

Best Short Story

  • WINNER: “A Brief Lesson in Native American Astronomy”, Rebecca Roanhorse (The Mythic Dream)
  • “Canst Thou Draw Out the Leviathan”, Christopher Caldwell (Uncanny 5-6/19)
  • “Dune Song”, Suyi Davies Okungbowa (Apex 5/7/19)
  • “And Now His Lordship Is Laughing”, Shiv Ramdas (Strange Horizons 9/9/19)
  • “Ten Excerpts from an Annotated Bibliography on the Cannibal Women of Ratnabar Island”, Nibedita Sen (Nightmare 5/19)

Best in Speculative Poetry

  • WINNER: “A Conversation Between the Embalmed Heads of Lampião and Maria Bonita on Public Display at the Baiano State Forensic Institute, Circa Mid-20th Century”, Woody Dismukes (Strange Horizons 9/30/19)
  • “Those Who Tell the Stories”, Davian Aw (Strange Horizons 10/7/19)
  • “goddess in forced repose”, Tamara Jerée (Uncanny 9-10/19)
  • “Elegy for the Self as Villeneuve’s Beast”, Brandon O’Brien (Uncanny 5-6/19)
  • “Heaven Is Expensive”, Ruben Reyes, Jr. (Strange Horizons 10/14/19)

Critics Award

  • WINNER: Alex Brown (Tor.com)
  • Liz Bourke
  • Maria Haskins
  • Jesse (Bowties & Books)
  • Charles Payseur (Quick Sip Reviews)

Best Fiction Podcast

  • WINNER: LeVar Burton Reads, LeVar Burton, Julia Smith, Adam Deibert, Brendan Byrnes, Mischa Stanton, Kristen Torres, Jenny Radelet, Josephine Martorana, Chris Bannon
  • Obsidian Podcast, Adetola Abdulkadir & Safiyah Cheatam
  • PodCastle, Jen R. Albert, Cherae Clark, Khaalidah Muhammad-Ali, Setsu Uzume & Peter Adrian Behravesh
  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Scott H. Andrews, ed.
  • Nightlight Podcast, Tonia Thompson

Best Artist

  • WINNER: Grace P. Fong
  • Geneva Bowers
  • Paul Lewin
  • Nilah Magruder
  • John Picacio

Best Comics Team

  • WINNER: These Savage Shores, Ram V, Sumit Kumar, Vitorio Astone, Aditya Bidikar & Tim Daniel (Vault)
  • Blackbird Vol. 1, Sam Humphries, Jen Bartel & Triona Farrell (Image)
  • Excellence, Khary Randolph, Brandon Thomas, Emilio Lopez & Deron Bennett (Image)
  • Coda, Simon Spurrier, Matías Bergara, Michael Doig, Jim Campbell & Colin Bell (BOOM!)
  • Bitter Root, David F. Walker, Chuck Brown & Sanford Greene (Image)

Best Anthology/Collected Works

Best in Creative Nonfiction

  • WINNER: “Black Horror Rising”, Tananarive Due (Uncanny 5-6/19)

The Ember Award

  • WINNER: LeVar Burton
  • Keidra Chaney
  • Tananarive Due
  • Malon Edwards
  • Nisi Shawl

The Community Award

  • WINNER: Strange Horizons
  • Mary Robinette Kowal
  • Beth Phelan
  • Diana M. Pho
  • Writing the Other

For more information, see the FIYAHCON website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *