2020 Chesley Awards Winners

The 2020 Chesley Awards winners were announced by the Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists (ASFA) in a virtual ceremony:

Best Cover Illustration: Hardcover

Best Cover Illustration: Paperback or Ebook

Best Magazine Illustration

  • Yoshitaka Amano for Blood Borne 6/19
  • Matt Dixon for Clarkesworld 5/19
  • Tiffany England for “Into the Wild Blue Yonder” (Cricket 10/19)
  • Tithi Luadthong for Lightspeed 6/19
  • Reiko Murakami for Lightspeed 1/19

Best Interior Illustration

  • WINNER: John Picacio for Ninth House, Leigh Bardugo (Flatiron)
  • Francois Baranger for The Call of Cthulhu, H.P. Lovecraft (Design Studio)
  • Audrey Benjaminsen for “The Time Invariance of Snow”, E. Lily Yu (Tor.com 12/14/19)
  • Amanda Makepeace for “Fanfare for Rose” (Amazing Stories Spring ’19)
  • Armando Veve for “Knowledgeable Creatures”, Christopher Rowe (Tor.com 3/6/19)
  • Allen Williams for Pan’s Labyrinth: The Labyrinth of the Faun, Guillermo del Toro & Cornelia Funke (Katherine Tegen)

Best Color Work: Unpublished

  • WINNER: Debbie Hughes for “The Raven, the Wolf and the Maiden” (oil on panel)
  • Bruce Brenneise for “If Stones Could Cry” (digital)
  • Martina Fačková for “Spellbinding Terror” (digital)
  • Te Hu, for “Who am I? — La Marcarena” (digital)
  • Elizabeth Leggett for “The Devil/The City” (digital)
  • David Seidman for “The Divine Migration” (digital)
  • Lauren Raye Snow for “Anima Sola I” (digital)

Best Monochrome Work: Unpublished

  • WINNER: Tehani Farr for “Gyhan akaii dannan Deli Iatt (She who sits at the end of the world upon a mountain of bones dreaming)” (mixed media, watercolor, graphite pencil)
  • Ken Cunnningham for “Both Their Coats Were Heavy” (graphite powder on dura-lar)
  • Jeff Echevarria for “Doctor, My Eyes” (charcoal, graphite, and gouache)
  • Melissa Sue Stanley for “The Tootsie Monster” (graphite)
  • Allen Williams for “The Hidden Light” (powdered graphite pencil, oil on board)

Best Three-Dimensional Art

  • WINNER: Forest Rogers for “Selene” (mixed media)
  • Daria Aksenova for “The Crane Wife” (pen, ink, and goldleaf)
  • Sara Felix for “The Cosmic Egg” (mixed media)
  • Kristine Poole for “The Spinner of Dreams” (bronze)
  • Vincent Villafranca for “Unbridled and Unfettered” (bronze)

Best Gaming-Related Illustration

  • WINNER: Charles Urbach for “King By His Own Hand” (GameHole Con)
  • Wylie Beckert for “Rosethorn Acolyte” (Wizards of the Coast)
  • Iris Compiet for “Brazen Borrower” (Wizards of the Coast)
  • Melissa Gay for “Summer Dandelion” (Changeling Artist Collective)
  • Winona Nelson for “Lonesome Unicorn” (Wizards of the Coast)
  • Omar Rayyan for “Flaxen Intruder” (Wizards of the Coast)

Best Product Illustration

  • WINNER: Rachel Quinlan for Olde Fae tuck box (Changeling Artist Collective)
  • Oliver Barrett for “Full Metal Jacket” (Mondo Poster)
  • Tehani Farr for “The Sky Mage” and “The God Eye” poster art (Pawahtun Festival)
  • Emily Hare for the Dragons 2020 calendar
  • Kez Laczin for cover art for the song “Stronger”, TheFatRat (Monstercat)
  • John Picacio for “La Cantarita” (Lone Boy)

Best Art Director

  • WINNER: Lauren Panepinto
  • Christine Foltzer
  • Irene Gallo
  • Kate Irwin
  • Nadine Schäkel
  • Cynthia Sheppard

Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award

  • WINNER: Syd Mead
  • Yoshitaka Amano
  • Stephanie Law
  • Gregory Manchess
  • Iain McCaig
  • Wendy Pini
  • Allen Williams

For more information, see the ASFA website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *