2020 HWA Scholarship Winners

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) announced the recipients of its 2020 scholarships.

The $2,500 Horror Writers Association Scholarship went to Matthew Andrew. First awarded in 2014 and open to all horror writers, the scholarship is “designed to assist in the professional development of horror writers.”

The $2,500 Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley Scholarship went to Abril Altamirano. Open to female horror writers and first awarded in 2014, it is given annually “to encourage more female writers to enter our genre and to aid in the development of those already working within it.”

The $1,250 Dark Poetry Scholarship, first awarded in 2015 and “designed to assist in the professional development of Horror and/or Dark Fantasy Poets,” was given to Manny Blacksher.

A winner was also chosen for the $500 Dennis Etchison Young Writers Award, “but due to the winner being a minor, their name and likeness will be unreleased due to privacy laws.”

For more information, including rules for applying for HWA scholarships (many of which do not require membership in the organization), see the HWA website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *