2019 Aurealis Awards Winners

The 2019 Aurealis Awards winners, recognizing the best in Australian speculative fiction, have been announced.

Best Science Fiction Novel

  • WINNER: Aurora Rising, Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (Allen & Unwin)

Best Science Fiction Novella

  • WINNER: “‘Scapes Made Diamond”, Shauna O’Meara (Interzone 3-4/19)
  • “Ventiforms”, Sean Monaghan (Asimov’s 1-2/19)
  • “You Will Remember Who You Were”, Cat Sparks (Dimension6 #16)
  • Prisoncorp, Marlee Jane Ward (Seizure)

Best Science Fiction Short Story

  • WINNER: “Wreck Diving”, Joanne Anderton (Aurealis #123)
  • “Sky Tears”, Mike Adamson (Alien Dimensions #17)
  • “Riding the Snails”, Jason Fischer (War of the Worlds: Battleground Australia)
  • “Canute”, R.P.L. Johnson (SNAFU: Last Stand)
  • “What We Named the Needle”, Freya Marske (Analog 7-8/19)
  • “Micro”, Angela Meyer (Kill Your Darlings 5/6/19)

Best Fantasy Novel

Best Fantasy Novella

  • WINNER: “‘Scapes Made Diamond”, Shauna O’Meara (Interzone 3-4/19)

Best Fantasy Short Story

  • WINNER: “Dragon by Subscription”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Patreon)
  • “Loose Stones”, Joanne Anderton (Infinite Threads)
  • “1078 Reasons”, Aidan Doyle (Translunar Travelers Lounge 8/15/19)
  • “Pigshit and Gold”, Aiki Flinthart (Dimension6 #18)
  • “CurioQueens”, Ephiny Gale (Constellary Tales 12/19)
  • “Good Dog, Alice”, Juliet Marillier (Wonderland)

Best Horror Novel

Best Horror Novella

Best Horror Short Story

  • “Loose Stones”, Joanne Anderton (Infinite Threads)
  • “The Mark”, Grace Chan (Verge 2019: Uncanny)
  • “Pilgrimage”, Matthew R. Davis (Breach #10)
  • “The Unwrapping”, Terry Dowling (Echoes)
  • “Of Meat and Man”, Jason Fischer (SNAFU: Last Stand)
  • “The Moth Tapes”, J. Ashley Smith (Aurealis #117)

Best Young Adult Novel

  • Winner: Aurora Rising, Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (Allen & Unwin)

Best Young Adult Short Story

Best Children’s Fiction

Best Collection

Best Anthology

Best Graphic Novel/Illustrated Work

Convenors’ Award For Excellence

  • “Watermarks: Science Fiction, Mitigation and the Mosaic Novel Structure in Australian Climate Fiction”, Jason Nahrung (PhD thesis, University of Queensland)

Winners were announced July 25, 2020 in a virtual awards ceremony via Zoom hosted by Kat Clay and Eugen Bacon. For more, see the official website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *